PDA

View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Haggis Top Posters


ktp101
08-29-2006, 10:00 PM
This will display the top XX poster in the Whats going on box (see screenshot)

XML File and Instructions are included

Requires an Addtion to one template

Thanks for using my plugin and any comments are welcome

ktp101
08-30-2006, 04:42 PM
Reserved lol

gingery
08-30-2006, 05:10 PM
How can I change it to only show the top posters during the last 24 hours?

ktp101
08-30-2006, 05:37 PM
am working on that as wee speak

gingery
08-30-2006, 05:45 PM
Thank you! That is just what I'm looking for.

Phooey
08-30-2006, 05:47 PM
Neat concept, I might have to install this one once I'm home from work.

Zachery
08-30-2006, 06:46 PM
Thats a crappy query to run everytime someone accesses the forumhome. I'd suggest adding an index for that if possible, or cacheing the data by way of a croin and the datastore.

Snake
08-30-2006, 10:17 PM
Awesome! Thanks for this. :D

CrossBones
08-30-2006, 11:18 PM
Thats a crappy query to run everytime someone accesses the forumhome. I'd suggest adding an index for that if possible, or cacheing the data by way of a croin and the datastore.But it works really well. *shrug*

harmor19
08-31-2006, 01:34 AM
You could've atleast used a variable more unique than "$test".

Eric
08-31-2006, 01:40 AM
Nice, although you should be using vBulletin's database class ;)

Zachery
08-31-2006, 09:46 PM
But it works really well. *shrug*
It works really well untill you have several hundered thousands users online and you need to scan the user table every time someone access the forumhome.

harmor19
08-31-2006, 10:42 PM
This should be flagged for poor programming.

harmor19
08-31-2006, 10:56 PM
I'm trying to help ktp with his code but after writing additional code to it I thought "what the hell am I going to do with this?".
I thought I could limit it so it would only check once a week but don't know how to go about caching the data until the query ran again.

if(date("d") % 7 == 1)
{
$gettopusers = $db->query_read("SELECT userid,username,posts FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX ."user ORDER BY posts DESC LIMIT 10");
while($topuser = $db->fetch_array($gettopusers))
{
$disptopuser .= "<a href='member.php?u=$topuser[userid]'>".$topuser['username']."</a> ($topuser[posts]), ";
}
}

Zachery
09-01-2006, 02:28 AM
Use a vB cron and have it run once an hour, day, whatever, and have it update another row possibly in the datastore so it can be pulled on demand.

CrossBones
09-01-2006, 02:02 PM
It works really well untill you have several hundered thousands users online and you need to scan the user table every time someone access the forumhome.I wish I had that problem. :cross-eyed:

CrossBones
09-01-2006, 02:07 PM
It works really well untill you have several hundered thousands users online and you need to scan the user table every time someone access the forumhome.So is this one coded equally as bad? : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=105546

harmor19
09-01-2006, 05:51 PM
So is this one coded equally as bad? : https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=105546
They're the exact same thing. So to answer oyur question, yes, it is equally bad if not worse.

CrossBones
09-01-2006, 10:16 PM
They're the exact same thing. So to answer oyur question, yes, it is equally bad if not worse.D'oh. http://wildpitchforums.com/images/smilies/banghead.gif

harmor19
09-02-2006, 04:39 PM
I informed Princeton and told him that the hack on this thread and the hack on another thread (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=105546) are coded exactly the same way. The only difference between these two is that this one fetches 5 rows and the other gets 10.

As people already stated, This hack is horribly coded which means the other one is equally if not worse. I say it's worse because it has to get 10 rows as opposed to 5.
You may also experience conflict if you installed the two hacks or had another other plugin in "forum_start" hook where you use $test as your output variable.
What I mean by that is that you use $test on the "forumhome" template.

I tried to privately deal with this to lessen the chances of hurting someone's creditably but I guess I'm not important enough for someone to read my private message.

colochris
09-07-2006, 04:23 AM
THANK YOU

THANK YOU

Great Hack

colochris
09-07-2006, 04:28 AM
ok maybe not

colochris
09-07-2006, 04:29 AM
where can i find one like this?

Gaia
09-15-2006, 12:53 PM
Thanks, installed ^_^

rezapci
09-18-2006, 03:26 PM
thanks so much

awesome work...

iran.gs
09-27-2006, 09:43 PM
lnstalled but i must agree with others it can be a problem on the long run well
mine shows double unless i am seeing double lol once all shown again secend line shows them again wierd i played with setting same thing.... uninstalled ,

ktp101
10-11-2006, 11:07 AM
The hack was made mainly for use on MY forum

I aint an expert in PHP coding so if the code sucks simple answer is dont use it

i aint all that up on Vb coding either so again dont like it dont use it

ktp101
10-11-2006, 11:11 AM
I tried to privately deal with this to lessen the chances of hurting someone's creditably but I guess I'm not important enough for someone to read my private message.

do u mean someone else coz i never received no pm

Emanet-Kaos
10-17-2006, 08:39 PM
Thanks :O)

webgeek247
10-27-2006, 10:36 AM
installed

cheers :)

Jesakos
02-24-2007, 09:38 PM
worked thnx :D

Slyfox1
02-25-2007, 05:11 AM
I had mine re-coded :) Cost me $$$ but the end result is much better :)

http://www.theuglybuggers.com/forum

slinky
03-16-2008, 06:20 PM
Sly - yours is just placed on the bottom. What is different about it other than placement? This one actually works. If there is a cached version of this simple mod, would love to find it.