PDA

View Full Version : PostBit Profile Drop Down


vBulletin THEN DAYLIGHT
07-21-2006, 10:00 PM
PostBit Profile Drop Down

What does it do?

Allows you to display profile fields in a pull down vB menu in the postbit.

Features


Neatens up the postbit, you don't have to have loads of info listed.
Will work on other vBulletin 3 versions. (Untested, but I see no reason why it shouldn't given that this particular part of the template to be used hasn't been changed).
Versatile. There are other uses you can use this for other than displaying profile fields. (not supported).
It's tested and it works.How long will it take to set up?

About 10 minutes.

Difficulty

Easy - Rather Irritating

Skill Level Required

Modest. Experience.

Instructions

STEP 1

Copy and paste this into Notepad:

<!-- more info menu -->
<if condition="$post[fielda] OR $post[fieldb] OR $post[fieldc] OR $post[fieldd] OR $post[fielde]">
<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="infomenu_$post[postid]_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="2">More Information</td>
</tr>
<if condition="$post['fielda]">
<tr>
<td class="thead">Gender</td>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">$post[fielda]</td>
</tr>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldb']">
<tr>
<td class="thead">Mood</td>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">$post[fieldb]</td>
</tr>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldc']">
<tr>
<td class="thead">Interests</td>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">$post[fieldc]</td>
</tr>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldd']">
<tr>
<td class="thead">Hero(s)</td>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">$post[fieldd]</td>
</tr>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fielde']">
<tr>
<td class="thead">Real Name</td>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">$post[fielde]</td>
</tr>
</if>
<if condition="$post['fieldf']">
<tr>
<td class="thead">Occupation</td>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="nohilite">$post[fieldf]</td>
</tr>
</if>
</table>
</div>
</if>
<!-- / more info menu -->
STEP 2

Make a note of the profile option ID of the fields you wish to use in the menu.

I have used examples such as 'fielda' in the code, change this to 'field2' etc. with 2 being the ID of the profile field. Go through all the code and makesure all are amended.

STEP 3

<td class="thead">Occupation</td>
Amend instances of these (Occupation) to match the name of the corresponding profile fields.

STEP 4

In postbit or postbit_legacy, find:

<!-- / post $post[postid] popup menu -->
and below it copy and paste the code from Notepad.

STEP 5

Copy and pase this into Notepad:

<if condition="$post[fielda] OR $post[fieldb] OR $post[fieldc] OR $post[fieldd] OR $post[fielde]">
<div id="infomenu_$post[postid]">
<a href="#infomenu_$post[postid]">More Info</a> <script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("infomenu_$post[postid]", true); </script>
</div>
</if>
Like you did before, change 'fielda' etc. appropriatley.

STEP 6

Copy and paste this to the area of the postbit you would like it to appear.

--------

Screenshots follow:

Snake
07-23-2006, 11:48 AM
Awesome, I love this thing! Thanks. :D

Tom_S
04-01-2008, 02:13 AM
Pretty nifty..This actually still works and with 3.7.0. Comes in handy with a Auto Club