View Full Version : Directly Accessing Custom User Profile Fields
theChronic
07-18-2006, 01:15 AM
Hey whats up
I want to access some of the custom user profile fields I made like this
<if condition="$show['age']">
<tr>
<td>
<strong>$vbphrase[age]</strong>:<br />
$userinfo[age]
</td>
</tr>
</if>
Instead of just calling for $customfields
because I want some of the fields to be in different spots rather than all in the same place (as using customfields puts it).
Is there any way so that I can call these fields directly and use them like "age"?
Thanks a ton
john
Paul M
07-18-2006, 03:28 AM
Use $userinfo[fieldX] where fieldX is the custom field.
theChronic
07-18-2006, 03:35 AM
So if I made a custom field with the title: Height
would I use $userinfo[fieldHeight] or $userinfo[Height]
and if there were spaces in the custom fields title?
Also, how do I do the $show[''] if conditions?
Thanks a lot
John
sab2000sab
07-18-2006, 03:53 AM
I think all custom fields are only referenced by the number.. I don't think you can rename (not title) them.. The name of the field is something like field7 the title is what shows up as the title in your edit profile page. The Number can be found when viewing the profiles fields manager..
theChronic
07-18-2006, 03:55 AM
Ahh gotcha, and would the show condition be like $show['field7'] ??
Thanks a bunch
sab2000sab
07-18-2006, 03:59 AM
This part I am not sure on.. so don't trust me 100%.. lol but when I pulled info from custom fields.. I used $post[fieldX] where X is the field number... This works for me.. so you could give it a shot!.. lol
theChronic
07-18-2006, 04:13 AM
Without an if condition? Do you think you could post your code for displaying one of your custom fields? Or modify the code (from memory) that I posted?
I just don't want the field to show if noone entered anything in it.
Thanks
John
sab2000sab
07-18-2006, 04:17 AM
Oh ok.. sorry.. I thought you just meant that little part.. Sorry! lol
Here is the basic code:
<if condition="$post[fieldX] != ''">
$post[fieldX]
</if>
theChronic
07-18-2006, 04:39 AM
Sweet man, I'll try that out, it looks like it will work. Thanks a lot to you both :)
Cheers
John
sab2000sab
07-18-2006, 04:46 AM
YW! Let me know how it works out for ya!!
Paul M
07-19-2006, 02:29 AM
$post is for use in posts, the original example code was taken from members profile page, where $userinfo is used.
I like to add a gender icon to the who is online list (next to the username). Can I also use "$userinfo[fieldX]"? Or how can I do that?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.