Log in

View Full Version : Is this a Hack?!?


PTWingus
07-11-2006, 01:44 PM
Ofcouse it's not their real ip .. Every member has their own little IP for members to see.

Is this a hack?

a simple fa?ade
07-11-2006, 02:50 PM
I'm not sure if it's a hack, but assuming it isn't you could always just create a custom profile field and then add that field into the postbit.

PTWingus
07-11-2006, 04:53 PM
But how would u make it so each member has a different IP?

Brandon Sheley
07-11-2006, 04:59 PM
u can set mods to see the ip.. and all admins should be able to see the ip

Wired1
07-11-2006, 06:58 PM
That IS an IP, just written in a different way. It's in California.

PTWingus
07-11-2006, 09:52 PM
That IS an IP, just written in a different way. It's in California.

ok? so how do i get mine like that?

Wired1
07-12-2006, 03:23 AM
Dunno. Each pair of letters is the hexidecimal version of the decimal IP address.

Example: 0DD2 7DAA (hexidecimal) = 0D.D2.7D.AA

slap each pair into a scientific calculator and you'll get the decimal version of it.

PTWingus
07-12-2006, 03:26 AM
Well thats some useful information .. But it still dosent tell me how i can get that IP on my forum .. =/

a simple fa?ade
07-12-2006, 03:06 PM
You'd just need to set it so that everyone can view IP addresses (not recommended).

PTWingus
07-12-2006, 04:59 PM
You'd just need to set it so that everyone can view IP addresses (not recommended).

I understand that part. But im trying to get it like this:
Example: 0DD2 7DAA (hexidecimal) = 0D.D2.7D.AA

Wired1
07-12-2006, 11:27 PM
Why do you want everyone to know every one else's IP though?

PTWingus
07-13-2006, 05:05 PM
Ok i got an answer,from the admin of that site. he said:

Actually, its not really any type of hex/binary/decimal format.. what I did was used the crypt() function to encrypt the ip, then the md5() function to further encode the ip, and finally, just displayed the first 8 characters, since displaying the full 32 char md5 hash makes it impossible for people to compare it quickly. With just 8 chars, its impossible to reverse engineer it to get the real ip back.

I went ahead and pasted the code below. You will need to modify the template to display the $post['ipcensored'] variable.



$censored_ip = explode(".", $post[ip]);
$encrypted_ip = strtoupper(md5(crypt("$censored_ip[0]$censored_ip[1]$censored_ip[2]$censored_ip[3]", "randomKEY")));
$post['ipcensored'] = substr($encrypted_ip, 0, 4) . " " . substr($encrypted_ip, 4, 4);

Insert that code above the line



$postbits .= construct_postbit($post, $template);in the linear mode section in the showthreads.php file

However,for some reason. in 3.5.4 their isnt a $postbits .= construct_postbit($post, $template); in that template.

Does anyone know what the code is for 3.5.4?

any1.

a simple fa?ade
07-14-2006, 03:13 PM
All of that code he listed is PHP code and needs to be edited into a core file somewhere.

The only templating that needs done is replacing the IP with the new variable.

djscene
07-14-2006, 03:32 PM
interesting

PTWingus
07-14-2006, 05:26 PM
All of that code he listed is PHP code and needs to be edited into a core file somewhere.

The only templating that needs done is replacing the IP with the new variable.

into a core file?

you mean in the showthread.php right?