View Full Version : Is this a Hack?!?
PTWingus
07-11-2006, 01:44 PM
Ofcouse it's not their real ip .. Every member has their own little IP for members to see.
Is this a hack?
a simple fa?ade
07-11-2006, 02:50 PM
I'm not sure if it's a hack, but assuming it isn't you could always just create a custom profile field and then add that field into the postbit.
PTWingus
07-11-2006, 04:53 PM
But how would u make it so each member has a different IP?
Brandon Sheley
07-11-2006, 04:59 PM
u can set mods to see the ip.. and all admins should be able to see the ip
Wired1
07-11-2006, 06:58 PM
That IS an IP, just written in a different way. It's in California.
PTWingus
07-11-2006, 09:52 PM
That IS an IP, just written in a different way. It's in California.
ok? so how do i get mine like that?
Wired1
07-12-2006, 03:23 AM
Dunno. Each pair of letters is the hexidecimal version of the decimal IP address.
Example: 0DD2 7DAA (hexidecimal) = 0D.D2.7D.AA
slap each pair into a scientific calculator and you'll get the decimal version of it.
PTWingus
07-12-2006, 03:26 AM
Well thats some useful information .. But it still dosent tell me how i can get that IP on my forum .. =/
a simple fa?ade
07-12-2006, 03:06 PM
You'd just need to set it so that everyone can view IP addresses (not recommended).
PTWingus
07-12-2006, 04:59 PM
You'd just need to set it so that everyone can view IP addresses (not recommended).
I understand that part. But im trying to get it like this:
Example: 0DD2 7DAA (hexidecimal) = 0D.D2.7D.AA
Wired1
07-12-2006, 11:27 PM
Why do you want everyone to know every one else's IP though?
PTWingus
07-13-2006, 05:05 PM
Ok i got an answer,from the admin of that site. he said:
Actually, its not really any type of hex/binary/decimal format.. what I did was used the crypt() function to encrypt the ip, then the md5() function to further encode the ip, and finally, just displayed the first 8 characters, since displaying the full 32 char md5 hash makes it impossible for people to compare it quickly. With just 8 chars, its impossible to reverse engineer it to get the real ip back.
I went ahead and pasted the code below. You will need to modify the template to display the $post['ipcensored'] variable.
$censored_ip = explode(".", $post[ip]);
$encrypted_ip = strtoupper(md5(crypt("$censored_ip[0]$censored_ip[1]$censored_ip[2]$censored_ip[3]", "randomKEY")));
$post['ipcensored'] = substr($encrypted_ip, 0, 4) . " " . substr($encrypted_ip, 4, 4);
Insert that code above the line
$postbits .= construct_postbit($post, $template);in the linear mode section in the showthreads.php file
However,for some reason. in 3.5.4 their isnt a $postbits .= construct_postbit($post, $template); in that template.
Does anyone know what the code is for 3.5.4?
any1.
a simple fa?ade
07-14-2006, 03:13 PM
All of that code he listed is PHP code and needs to be edited into a core file somewhere.
The only templating that needs done is replacing the IP with the new variable.
djscene
07-14-2006, 03:32 PM
interesting
PTWingus
07-14-2006, 05:26 PM
All of that code he listed is PHP code and needs to be edited into a core file somewhere.
The only templating that needs done is replacing the IP with the new variable.
into a core file?
you mean in the showthread.php right?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.