View Full Version : User Signature in a box
Time Required : 2-3 Minutes
This is my first template modification, Please be Kind.
Find the following code in postbit template in your default style
Admin CP > Style Manager > Search in Templates > Choose Your style and put postbit and click Find
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
Replace With the following code :
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Signature</legend>
<div style="padding: 3px;">
$post[signature]
</div>
</div>
</fieldset>
<!-- / sig -->
Please Click Install once you successfuly install.
Stifler
07-05-2006, 05:37 AM
very useful, i was wondering how some sites had that :D thanks
Snake
07-05-2006, 06:13 AM
Wow I kinda like this. Thanks!
snowlion
07-05-2006, 07:04 AM
opps very simple ^^
:) nice idea mate.
Keep going on...
Cheers
EnIgMa1234
07-05-2006, 11:58 AM
thx good idea
*installs*
peterska2
07-05-2006, 12:02 PM
Nice little touch. :)
BTW, you have a stray</div>in your code there which you might want to get rid of
PitPunks
07-06-2006, 03:06 AM
simple, but yet, amazing, thanks
SweetHome
07-06-2006, 07:41 AM
thanks, good job.
Kaleem
07-06-2006, 04:50 PM
installed :)
Canis Firebrand
07-07-2006, 09:30 PM
Very nice. Installed.
Though I made one small change. With your replacement as stated, it put the signature box right under the post text with no break.
I added in a <br /> before the <fieldset> part. Looks very nice.
Thanks.
BANDiT600
07-07-2006, 09:36 PM
Canis Firebrand, we think in one way... :)
That's fine, I will try to get more template modifications.
Nathan2006
07-08-2006, 05:25 AM
Thank you GFSR
I installed this the other day and clicked install but forgot to say
thank you:D
Install;)
That's Fine, Will get more modifications soon!!!
Nathan2006
07-12-2006, 08:19 PM
Hi,
I have added a screen shot to show the problem Im having :(
It was working for the past few days and now the top line has gone.
This works in firefox but not in IE anymore :(
Also I have added a bit of code from my postbit_legacy:
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0">
$post[moderatedattachments]
</table>
</fieldset>
</if>
</div>
<!-- / attachments -->
</if><br><br><br><br><br><br><br />
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Signature</legend>
<div style="padding: 3px;">
$post[signature]
</div>
</div>
</fieldset>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>
<if condition="$show['postedited']">
<!-- edit note -->
<div class="smallfont"> <hr size="1" style="color:$stylevar[tborder_bgcolor]" />
<em>
<phrase 1="$post[edit_username]" 2="$post[edit_date]" 3="$post[edit_time]">$vbphrase[last_edited_by_x_on_y_at_z]</phrase>.
<if condition="$post['edit_reason']">$vbphrase[reason]: $post[edit_reason]</if>
Thank you for any help :)
peterska2
07-12-2006, 08:53 PM
Try this, as there is a </div> too many in the code which FF will overlook but IE will include.
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>Signature</legend>
<div style="padding: 3px;">
$post[signature]
</div>
</fieldset>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>
gbechtel
07-12-2006, 11:21 PM
Put the username in so it reads "user's Signature"
<br />
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>$post[username]'s Signature</legend>
<div style="padding: 3px;">
$post[signature]
</div>
</fieldset>
<!-- / sig -->
Nathan2006
07-13-2006, 07:42 AM
Try this, as there is a </div> too many in the code which FF will overlook but IE will include.
I did remove that code and also tried your code but still no luck with the
line at the top of the sig :(
This month Microsoft released a lot of updates to xp and IE and I installed them, Even tho I am only using IE 6.
Put the username in so it reads "user's Signature"
Thank you that looks really nice but the line at the top of
the sig does not work :(
Is this happening to anyone else?
Also does anyone have a fix for this?
Thank you for any help :)
WAHMama
07-19-2006, 08:54 AM
Put the username in so it reads "user's Signature"
<br />
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<fieldset class="fieldset">
<legend>$post[username]'s Signature</legend>
<div style="padding: 3px;">
$post[signature]
</div>
</fieldset>
<!-- / sig -->
Awesome idea, I really like it on my board :) Adding the username personalizes the siggy box even more I think
Synergy
07-28-2006, 01:27 PM
Thanx for your nice idea :cool:
if u want colored and dotted signature box , use this
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<fieldset style="border: 3px double #008080; ">
<legend>Signature</legend>
<div style="padding: 3px;">
$post[signature]
</div>
</div>
</fieldset>
<!-- / sig -->
ronoxQ
07-31-2006, 12:06 AM
I think you need to add an </if> to the end.
EDIT: Oh, wait. You don't have that for replacement. In that case, why not remove the IF condition at the front?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.