View Full Version : World of Warcraft Profile Mod
gmrstudios
07-02-2006, 10:00 PM
Begin by adding the appropriate profile fields:
Admincp > User Profile Fields > Add New User Profile Field > Single-Selection Menu
Character Gender: - Single-Selection Menu
Male
Female
Character Race: - Single-Selection Menu
Dwarf
Gnome
Human
Night Elf
Orc
Tauren
Troll
Undead
Character Class: - Single-Selection Menu
Druid
Hunter
Mage
Paladin
Priest
Rogue
Shaman
Warlock
Warrior
Character Faction: - Single-Selection Menu
Alliance
Horde
Profession 1: - Single-Selection Menu
Alchemy
Blacksmithing
Enchanting
Engineering
Herbalism
Leatherworking
Mining
Skinning
Tailoring
Profession 2: - Single-Selection Menu
Alchemy
Blacksmithing
Enchanting
Engineering
Herbalism
Leatherworking
Mining
Skinning
Tailoring
When thats complete find your postbit_legacy template by going to Admincp > Styles & Templates > Postbit Templates > postbit_legacy
Find:
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>
Place the following code after it:
<if condition="$post[field#]"><img src="images/$post[field#].gif" alt="$post[field10]"></if>
<if condition="$post[field#race] && $post[field#gender]"><img src="images/$post[field#race]_$post[field#gender].gif" alt="$post[field#race] $post[field#gender]"></if>
<if condition="$post[field#]"><img src="images/$post[field#].gif" alt="$post[field9]"></if>
<if condition="$post[field#]"><img src="images/$post[field#].gif" alt="$post[field11]"></if>
<if condition="$post[field#]"><img src="images/$post[field#].gif" alt="$post[field12]"></if>
When your done just edit the [field#] to match those in your User Profiles Manager and edit the img src location to the folder of your choice.
Special Thanks to peterska2 for bringing this mod into prime time.
I have included the images I used on my forums for your convenience.
http://www.ilterendi.net/example.jpg
hey...that is very cool.. i like the work in it. I dont play WoW but dang..that is a avery ncie mod for those that do
Injektilo
07-03-2006, 12:35 AM
thats not good for big boards... 30 + conditional statements is way too many... ermmm, there is another way to do this
Bad Bunny
07-03-2006, 01:19 AM
Well, that looks really cool. lol Maybe it would be kinda bad with so many conditionals...but it's hard to measure what strain conditionals put on the server.
Great work though.
gmrstudios
07-03-2006, 01:54 AM
Great! I am a vbb noob and if there is a better way I am all ears :)
Cole2026
07-03-2006, 02:19 AM
You could reduce the amount of ifs by naming the selection as the name of the image, example:
<if condition="$post['field10']"><img src="images/$post[field10].gif" alt="$post[field10]"></if>
As you can see, if you would set the name of the image to the selection, you could save yourself ALOT of different ifs. :)
Tork64
07-03-2006, 03:57 AM
holy this is getting installed for sure :)
Edit: nevermind i figured it out on my own :)
DoKoK
07-03-2006, 08:47 PM
I did everything as you stated, but for some reason nothing shows up....
my site: http://en-raptured.com/main/
Stifler
07-04-2006, 04:41 AM
I did everything as you stated, but for some reason nothing shows up....
my site: http://en-raptured.com/main/
your in "postbit" mode, chang your site to "postbit legacy" because thats where you made the modifications.
Daniel
07-04-2006, 06:23 AM
Installed, thanks.
DoKoK
07-05-2006, 02:19 AM
your in "postbit" mode, chang your site to "postbit legacy" because thats where you made the modifications.
Where Can I change to postbit legacy from postbit?
Thanks
Borgs8472
07-05-2006, 11:55 AM
Can you make this into an xml installer so it's more useful? Thanks!
peterska2
07-05-2006, 11:58 AM
Can you make this into an xml installer so it's more useful? Thanks!
There really is no need for that as it is a one template edit modification after setting up your profile fields.
Borgs8472
07-05-2006, 12:01 PM
Yes but I am lazy. This is just info on how to make this entirely manually which I already know. If it actually saved me some time or taught me something I didn't know, I'd 'install' it.
lanc3lot
07-05-2006, 12:17 PM
So is it safe to install it or a newer version with less statements will be released? Also an xml will be handy ,mostly for the profile fields u have to add manually
gmrstudios
07-05-2006, 06:15 PM
If I knew how to create an XML installer I would, but as mentioned before I am pretty darn new to this stuff.
I would also love to know how this can be made to use less if statements.
The one suggested above, works to a point but does not properly display the "alt" tab assigned to each image.
peterska2
07-05-2006, 06:17 PM
I've not yet come across a way to add profile fields via xml, and I've tried quite a lot as I have a modification that is reliant on a large number of them.
Bad Bunny
07-07-2006, 05:44 PM
Yeah, an installer of some kind would be troublesome at best. How would it know what the numbers of the new profile fields are? Not everyone adds their own, and some people would have already added some of their own...so it would be different for each installation.
Grant
07-10-2006, 01:22 AM
Why does mine bring up numbers where the images are supposed to go?
It's like it's trying to have the image names as the order that the options are in?
Like Alliance = 1.gif
Horde = 2.gif
peterska2
07-10-2006, 01:28 AM
Why does mine bring up numbers where the images are supposed to go?
It's like it's trying to have the image names as the order that the options are in?
Like Alliance = 1.gif
Horde = 2.gif
Did you set your profile field to single selection menus not multiple selction menus?
Stifler
07-10-2006, 03:02 AM
theres no shaman.gif
and with the new code implemented, images won't showup for character race because they are based on Male + Female, and that isnt the name of the gif's in this case..
peterska2
07-10-2006, 09:53 AM
If you are not using male and female, then you can remove that line from the code and replicate one of the other lines to use with the profile field that you have for race.
If you have a race that there are no images for, then you will need to make your own unless someone else has one that they are willing to share with you.
gmrstudios
07-11-2006, 05:58 AM
Good catch you will need to add the following field
Character Gender: - Single-Selection Menu
Male
Female
Thanks!
Stifler
07-11-2006, 06:13 AM
any chance of a shaman.gif release or should i make my own?
gmrstudios
07-11-2006, 03:15 PM
Zip files updated to include shaman.gif
I like this mod, but I'm having a problem changing the fields. None of the images/tags (rogue, human, etc) are showing up.
Maybe you guys can help me out. I want to leave the professions out of it. So here's my field #'s...
Gender = field9
Race = field10
Class = field11
Faction = field12
Can someone please show me how exactly to change the fields in the legacy? Because when I change it, nothing shows up. I'm frustrated with it and just need some answers. Thanks for the help in advance.
EDIT: The images are in the "/images" root.
peterska2
07-17-2006, 09:44 AM
<if condition="$post[field11]"><img src="images/$post[field11].gif" alt="$post[field11]"></if>
<if condition="$post[field10] && $post[field9]"><img src="images/$post[field10]_$post[field9].gif" alt="$post[field10] $post[field9]"></if>
<if condition="$post[field12]"><img src="images/$post[field12].gif" alt="$post[field12]"></if>
That should work for you.
<if condition="$post[field11]"><img src="images/$post[field11].gif" alt="$post[field11]"></if>
<if condition="$post[field10] && $post[field9]"><img src="images/$post[field10]_$post[field9].gif" alt="$post[field10] $post[field9]"></if>
<if condition="$post[field12]"><img src="images/$post[field12].gif" alt="$post[field12]"></if>
That should work for you.
Works great! Thanks a ton!
Blaine0002
07-21-2006, 11:34 PM
needed to change an underscore to a space in one of the lines, to correspond witht he images..
example here
<if condition="$post['field6'] && $post['field5']"><img src="images/$post[field6] $post[field5].gif" alt="$post[field6] $post[field5]"></if>
s3xt0y
07-26-2006, 09:20 AM
is there anyway to get this work on postbit?
Blaine0002
07-30-2006, 07:51 PM
thats the whole point. read the first post.
lanc3lot
08-05-2006, 04:49 PM
Is this working on 3.6? I mean its just profile fields, i assume it does
Spongeh
01-18-2007, 05:22 PM
Anyone know where I can get some icons for Blood Elves?
turnipofdoom
02-12-2007, 07:26 PM
Here are the class icons I used to update the mod on one of my sites. You will need to include Dranei and Blood Elf to the appropriate user profile field, and upload these to your appropriate image folder following the instructions of the OP. I still have yet to find a good jewelcrafting icon to update that field, if I find one I'll post it for you.
http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/5862/bloodelffemalehv4.gif http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/5324/bloodelfmaleml8.gif http://img78.imageshack.us/img78/6052/draneifemalerd1.gif http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/3015/draneimaleib6.gif
Heidrich
02-21-2007, 01:43 PM
It's not perfect, it needs a little work on the corners:
Jewelcrafting:
http://www.brothersofnos.com/home/images/wowimages/Jewelcrafting.gif
Have fun!!
Evolution06
03-19-2007, 07:10 PM
Would this also work for 3.6.5? I made the profiles but when I use the code (I figure the code would work fine) My images don't show
I put the images in /images/wowimages/
I am not doing something right. I just deleted the code so if you could help with the code that would be great cause what I am doing is not working.
I got my profile fields set at
gender, 5
race, 6
class, 7
faction, 8
professions 1, 9
professions 2. 10
Masked Crusader
03-19-2007, 10:17 PM
GMRStudios,
I sent you a PM regarding posting an update to this mod for The Burning Crusade Expansion.
hcb25
11-24-2008, 06:25 PM
I can't find the Postbit legacy option, is this another mod?
* nm i found it, i'm vbulletin noob
Tharos
12-31-2008, 12:46 AM
excelent work dude!
Bestrafung
09-05-2009, 05:03 AM
Just thought I'd let everyone know that I've updated the images pack to include Blood Elves, Draenei, Death Knights, Jewelcrafting, and Inscription. You just need to add these new items to their appropriate profile fields. BTW, this still works in 3.8, and I made the modifications to the postbit template rather than the postbit legacy template.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.