PDA

View Full Version : Disabling signatures for specified forums


bonjurkes
05-27-2006, 10:29 AM
Hello,

I am looking for a hack that can allow me to disable using signatures at specified forums...

For example i have A B C forums.

When users post something their signature will appear at under their posts at A and B forums.

But at C forum when user post somethings their signature will not appear under their posts


I know users can disable sending signatures while sending post but i am looking for something automatic ;)

rogersnm
05-27-2006, 01:55 PM
i'll make that hold on...

here you go:

In postbit or postbit_legacy
FIND:
<if condition="$post['signature']">
Add Below:
<if condition="$foruminfo[forumid] == 'x'">

Then FIND:
<!-- / sig -->
</if>
Add Below:
</if>

Replace x with what ever forum id you don't want to see sigs in..

Regards,
Nick.

Boofo
05-27-2006, 02:07 PM
I think Chris M did a plug-in for this. ;)

rogersnm
05-27-2006, 02:08 PM
ahh well lol it's a pretty simple template edit...

Boofo
05-27-2006, 02:18 PM
Yes, but with the plug-in, you can disable it per forum in the forum settings. ;)

bonjurkes
05-27-2006, 06:02 PM
so boofo where can i find it can you gimme link of it please?

rogersnm
05-27-2006, 06:03 PM
ahh you don't want to use mine i worked long and hard on that (2 minutes with a dodgy if statment)

Azhrialilu
05-27-2006, 07:00 PM
so boofo where can i find it can you gimme link of it please?

have a look at Chris's profile, it lists all his hacks ;)

bonjurkes
05-27-2006, 08:35 PM
i check chris m'S hacks but there is only for image limits for signature not anything about disabling sig...

bump....

rogersnm
05-28-2006, 12:33 PM
umm i made you a mod just use that!

DominicG
08-02-2006, 08:37 PM
I was looking for this as well. I put the code in but it doesn't work. Do I replace the original code or add to it? Also when I add the forums I don't want to see siggy's in do I add ' before and after each forum? Thank you so much for your help :)

Kathleen(Dominic is my son)

Freesteyelz
08-03-2006, 12:58 AM
@Kathleen/DominicG:

In your postbit or postbit_legacy template find:

<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>


And replace it with:

<if condition="$thread['forumid'] == x or $thread['forumid'] == y">
<else />
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>
</if>


Then substitute "x" and "y" for the Forumid #; the forums that you do not want the signatures displayed. The above example only will disallow 2 forums. To add more just copy and paste the following code (apply the spaces too):


or $thread['forumid'] == z


The overall code will then be:

<if condition="$thread['forumid'] == x or $thread['forumid'] == y or $thread['forumid'] == z">


I tested it and it should work. If you have any questions let me know. :)

DominicG
08-03-2006, 01:08 AM
Thank you so much! I will try it and let you know :)

Freesteyelz
08-03-2006, 01:16 AM
Ok. :)

DominicG
08-03-2006, 12:50 PM
I tried it and it doesn't work :( I'm sure it's something I'm doing wrong. I just don't know what. I'm not good at this stuff. I'm just learning. Thank you so much for your help :)

Kathleen

Freesteyelz
08-04-2006, 02:02 AM
NP...We'll work this through. :)

Make sure that you're editing the correct postbit template; either postbit or postbit_legacy. Please post (in the code tag) the signature code that you're using; if you also have my codes in place please add them too. I will also need your forum ID numbers of the forums that you do not want the signature to display.