View Full Version : Disabling signatures for specified forums
bonjurkes
05-27-2006, 10:29 AM
Hello,
I am looking for a hack that can allow me to disable using signatures at specified forums...
For example i have A B C forums.
When users post something their signature will appear at under their posts at A and B forums.
But at C forum when user post somethings their signature will not appear under their posts
I know users can disable sending signatures while sending post but i am looking for something automatic ;)
rogersnm
05-27-2006, 01:55 PM
i'll make that hold on...
here you go:
In postbit or postbit_legacy
FIND:
<if condition="$post['signature']">
Add Below:
<if condition="$foruminfo[forumid] == 'x'">
Then FIND:
<!-- / sig -->
</if>
Add Below:
</if>
Replace x with what ever forum id you don't want to see sigs in..
Regards,
Nick.
Boofo
05-27-2006, 02:07 PM
I think Chris M did a plug-in for this. ;)
rogersnm
05-27-2006, 02:08 PM
ahh well lol it's a pretty simple template edit...
Boofo
05-27-2006, 02:18 PM
Yes, but with the plug-in, you can disable it per forum in the forum settings. ;)
bonjurkes
05-27-2006, 06:02 PM
so boofo where can i find it can you gimme link of it please?
rogersnm
05-27-2006, 06:03 PM
ahh you don't want to use mine i worked long and hard on that (2 minutes with a dodgy if statment)
Azhrialilu
05-27-2006, 07:00 PM
so boofo where can i find it can you gimme link of it please?
have a look at Chris's profile, it lists all his hacks ;)
bonjurkes
05-27-2006, 08:35 PM
i check chris m'S hacks but there is only for image limits for signature not anything about disabling sig...
bump....
rogersnm
05-28-2006, 12:33 PM
umm i made you a mod just use that!
DominicG
08-02-2006, 08:37 PM
I was looking for this as well. I put the code in but it doesn't work. Do I replace the original code or add to it? Also when I add the forums I don't want to see siggy's in do I add ' before and after each forum? Thank you so much for your help :)
Kathleen(Dominic is my son)
Freesteyelz
08-03-2006, 12:58 AM
@Kathleen/DominicG:
In your postbit or postbit_legacy template find:
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>
And replace it with:
<if condition="$thread['forumid'] == x or $thread['forumid'] == y">
<else />
<if condition="$post['signature']">
<!-- sig -->
<div>
__________________<br />
$post[signature]
</div>
<!-- / sig -->
</if>
</if>
Then substitute "x" and "y" for the Forumid #; the forums that you do not want the signatures displayed. The above example only will disallow 2 forums. To add more just copy and paste the following code (apply the spaces too):
or $thread['forumid'] == z
The overall code will then be:
<if condition="$thread['forumid'] == x or $thread['forumid'] == y or $thread['forumid'] == z">
I tested it and it should work. If you have any questions let me know. :)
DominicG
08-03-2006, 01:08 AM
Thank you so much! I will try it and let you know :)
Freesteyelz
08-03-2006, 01:16 AM
Ok. :)
DominicG
08-03-2006, 12:50 PM
I tried it and it doesn't work :( I'm sure it's something I'm doing wrong. I just don't know what. I'm not good at this stuff. I'm just learning. Thank you so much for your help :)
Kathleen
Freesteyelz
08-04-2006, 02:02 AM
NP...We'll work this through. :)
Make sure that you're editing the correct postbit template; either postbit or postbit_legacy. Please post (in the code tag) the signature code that you're using; if you also have my codes in place please add them too. I will also need your forum ID numbers of the forums that you do not want the signature to display.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.