PDA

View Full Version : Simple Request: Replace Underscores (_) with a space ' ' in thread titles


Iain M
05-25-2006, 08:24 PM
I believe there will be a simple plugin to create for this, but i'm just not sure how :)

can someone please make this or tell me how to do it?

I know this should be able to be done using str_replace,

i've tried adding a plugin with
$thread['title'] = str_replace("_", " ", $thread['title']);

hook location forumdisplay_start, that didn't work :(

any help please?


thnx,
Iain

Iain M
05-26-2006, 08:48 PM
anyone... please :)

Adrian Schneider
05-26-2006, 08:52 PM
Change your plugin to use the hook "threadbit_display" and it should work.
You may want to consider modifying the title the user submits upon saving to database...

Iain M
05-26-2006, 09:02 PM
Change your plugin to use the hook "threadbit_display" and it should work.
You may want to consider modifying the title the user submits upon saving to database...

that didn't work either :\ i also tried
$thread[title] = str_replace("_", " ", $thread[title]);
(i.e. removing the ')


I'm quite a n00b with vBulletin coding so i'm not quite sure how i'd be able to go about "modifying the title the user submits upon saving to database"... but i'm sure i'd get it if you (or anyone else) were to point me in the direction :)


Iain

Adrian Schneider
05-26-2006, 10:43 PM
Always leave the quotes around title, otherwise if "title" is a defined constant, you will run into some problems...

Anyway, use this instead:
$thread['title'] = str_replace('_', ' ', $thread['title']);
$thread['threadtitle'] = str_replace('_', ' ', $thread['threadtitle']);

Iain M
05-27-2006, 12:40 PM
Always leave the quotes around title, otherwise if "title" is a defined constant, you will run into some problems...

Anyway, use this instead:
$thread['title'] = str_replace('_', ' ', $thread['title']);
$thread['threadtitle'] = str_replace('_', ' ', $thread['threadtitle']);

thnx but that still didnt work :(

that was to be in the threadbit_display hook? cos that's where i have it ...

any other ideas?


thnx,
Iain

Adrian Schneider
05-27-2006, 09:53 PM
It works fine for me.

Where are you testing it from? That code will only alter it when viewing searches, forumdisplay, etc...

Iain M
05-28-2006, 03:14 PM
It works fine for me.

Where are you testing it from? That code will only alter it when viewing searches, forumdisplay, etc...

hmm...

i'll try again, i was testing it in forumdisplay...


EDIT:

it wasn't working becuase you had single qutes instead of double quotes, this is the code i use...
$thread['title'] = str_replace("_", " ", $thread['title']);
$thread['threadtitle'] = str_replace("_", " ", $thread['threadtitle']);


thank you SirAdrian :D

Adrian Schneider
05-28-2006, 04:08 PM
Single quotes don't matter. You messed something else up. ;)

Iain M
05-28-2006, 07:01 PM
Single quotes don't matter. You messed something else up. ;)

lol, did matter for me :p the only thing i changed was the single quotes to double quotes :p

Adrian Schneider
05-28-2006, 07:17 PM
Single quotes don't matter. You messed something else up. ;)

Iain M
05-28-2006, 08:03 PM
Single quotes don't matter. You messed something else up. ;)

lol, well it was a special case for me then :p

this could go on forever, i've got what i wanted, so thanks :)

COBRAws
11-27-2006, 01:58 AM
Sorry for the bump. But this is not working for me on 3.5.x
Im using it on the threadbit_display hook

Iain M
11-27-2006, 07:06 PM
What's posted only removes the underscore from the display, not the actual thread title e.g. (I noticed you're using vBSEO)
Thread title: Hello_World
Thread title would display as: Hello World
Thread URL: http://www.someforum.com/introductions/1684/hello_world.html

to get it to remove from the URL and the display and thread title (for newly posted threads) import the attached plugin.


*Note* I'm not sure if it works for 3.5.x but it should the only difference between the 3.5 plugin and 3.6 plugin is the 3.5 plugin has executionorder="5" removed....


Iain