Log in

View Full Version : Random hex color


Trommsdorff
05-21-2006, 11:13 PM
Hello,

I have some PHP code that generates a random hex color code. I would like to incorporate it for use in vbulletin (it has to be server side). In a normal PHP file, the output is something like $randomcolor.

Does anyone know how to get that to be displayed properly within VB using the plugin system (if that's the proper way to do it)?

Adrian Schneider
05-21-2006, 11:15 PM
Stick the PHP code in a new plugin using the "global_start" hook. $randomnumber should then be available to use in most templates.

Dan
05-21-2006, 11:15 PM
Best way is to put the code in a plugin for global_start and then call the variable you are using for it wherever you want to use it.

Trommsdorff
05-21-2006, 11:18 PM
wow, fast replies, many thanks.

Is it simply called with $randomnumber ? Or does it need some {} or [] ?

Adrian Schneider
05-21-2006, 11:19 PM
wow, fast replies, many thanks.

Is it simply called with $randomnumber ? Or does it need some {} or [] ?
We can't tell you without seeing your code.

Trommsdorff
05-21-2006, 11:22 PM
OK, the code I plan on using is from here:

http://www.zend.com/tips/tips.php?id=243&single=1

My rendition is below:

<?

// randomize the color
$r = rand(128,255);
$g = rand(128,255);
$b = rand(128,255);

$randomcolor = dechex($r) . dechex($g) . dechex($b);
?>

Adrian Schneider
05-21-2006, 11:25 PM
Okay, in your plugin, do NOT include the PHP tags (<? and ?>). Everything else looks okay - be sure to add the # in front of $randomcolor when you use it. And no, you won't need any []s or {}s.

Trommsdorff
05-21-2006, 11:32 PM
OK, thanks again for the quick reply. I'm trying to use it in the postbit_legacy to display in posts, but nothing is showing.

Should I call it differently for there?

Adrian Schneider
05-21-2006, 11:37 PM
OK, thanks again for the quick reply. I'm trying to use it in the postbit_legacy to display in posts, but nothing is showing.

Should I call it differently for there?
Posts are processed in a function, so it's not available there. If you want every post to have a different color, do this: hook: postbit_display_complete$r = rand(128,255);
$g = rand(128,255);
$b = rand(128,255);

$randomcolor = dechex($r) . dechex($g) . dechex($b); and then $randomcolor will be available (and unique) in all of your posts (you can remove the other plugin you created in global_start).

If you want them all the same:
postbit_display_completeglobal $randomcolor; (while leaving the original global_start hook intact).

Trommsdorff
05-21-2006, 11:41 PM
Fantastic! My deepest thanks. I'm actually using as part of an included JS script that needs an image border color and it works well now! Thanks!