View Full Version : Framing the Forum with cells ?
Rickk
05-21-2006, 10:33 PM
So I've developing a new skin for an upgrade to my forums and I wanted to have some fancy 16px wide cells on each side of the main forum table (outlined in red on the attached screen).
I was able to add them quite easily to the header and the footer (outlined in green on the attached screen), but I can't find the table to insert the TD tag before and after the main cell that contains the forum "bits")
I'm using vb3.5.4 and am tearing apart a style mod by foruma-z called "Sosumi", which can be found here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=110446 (I don't know if that's helpful at all - it doesnt look like there are any customization to the areas I'm talking about in this post)
The code I'm using is:
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table_left.png)"> </td>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table_right.png)"> </td>
Any help would be much appreciated! It seems like something simple but I'm having a lot of trouble figuring it out!
Logikos
05-22-2006, 05:36 AM
WIthout looking at all your code for the style. It's hard to tell. I'll go to your site in your profile and take a peak.
Okay, try this for me:
In your header template. Add this code to the very bottom.
<table width="892" align="center" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url(images/styles/alturas8/misc/table_left.png)"> </td>
<td>
In your footer template search for: (thats not a type-o)
<form
Above that add this:
</td>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url(images/styles/alturas8/misc/table_right.png)"> </td>
</table>
Rickk
05-24-2006, 05:16 PM
Thanks, LiveWire! That seemed to do the trick (I had to play around with the placement a little bit, but I got it to work).
However, a new problem has cropped up in light of this. Now the "time is now" and "log out" options are floating between tables (see attachment). Should I just insert a new table around them?
Here's my footer code:
<br />
<br />
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td align="$stylevar[left]">
<div class="smallfont" align="left">$vbphrase[all_times_are_gmt_x_time_now_is_y]</div></td>
<td align="$stylevar[right]"><div class="smallfont"><strong>
<if condition="!$show['guest']">
<!-- member logout -->
<a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out()"><phrase 1="$bbuserinfo[username]">$vbphrase[log_out_x]</phrase></a>
<!-- end member logout -->
</if>
</strong>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
$spacer_close
</td>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url(images/styles/alturas8/misc/table_right.png)"> </td>
</table>
<form action="$vboptions[forumhome].php" method="get">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="892" align="center" colspan="3">
<tr>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table_left.png)"> </td>
<td width="860" align="center" valign="top" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table.png)">
<table width="100%">
<tr>
<td class="tfoot">
<if condition="$show['quickchooser']">
<select name="styleid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'style')">
<optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_style_chooser]">
$quickchooserbits
</optgroup>
</select>
</if>
</td>
<td class="tfoot">
<if condition="$show['languagechooser']">
<select name="langid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'lang')">
<optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_language_chooser]">
$languagechooserbits
</optgroup>
</select>
</if>
</td>
<td class="tfoot" align="$stylevar[right]">
<div class="smallfont">
<strong>
<if condition="$show['contactus']"><a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a> -</if>
<a href="$vboptions[homeurl]">$vboptions[hometitle]</a> -
<if condition="$show['admincplink']"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[admin]</a> -</if>
<if condition="$show['modcplink']"><a href="$modcpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[mod]</a> -</if>
<if condition="$vboptions['archiveenabled']"><a href="archive/index.php">$vbphrase[archive]</a> -</if>
<if condition="$vboptions[privacyurl]"><a href="$vboptions[privacyurl]">$vbphrase[privacy_statement]</a> -</if>
<a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;">$vbphrase[top]</a>
</strong>
</div>
</td>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table_right.png)"> </td>
</tr>
</table>
<br />
<div align="center">
<div class="smallfont" align="center">
<!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
$vbphrase[powered_by_vbulletin]
<!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
</div>
<div class="smallfont" align="center">
<!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->
$cronimage
<!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->
$vboptions[copyrighttext]
</div>
</div>
</form>
<if condition="$show['dst_correction']">
<!-- auto DST correction code -->
<form action="profile.php" method="post" name="dstform">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="dst" />
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var tzOffset = $bbuserinfo[timezoneoffset] + $bbuserinfo[dstonoff];
var utcOffset = new Date().getTimezoneOffset() / 60;
if (Math.abs(tzOffset + utcOffset) == 1)
{ // Dst offset is 1 so its changed
document.forms.dstform.submit();
}
//-->
</script>
<!-- / auto DST correction code -->
</if>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
// Main vBulletin Javascript Initialization
vBulletin_init();
//-->
</script>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- /content area table -->
</div>
Rickk
05-24-2006, 05:27 PM
Actually, that was easy. I just moved that table down past the little quicklinks and style chooser table and it works.
However, there is still a wierd break in the tables when you're logged in (when you're not it looks great)
Arg?
</td>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url(images/styles/alturas8/misc/table_right.png)"> </td>
</table>
<form action="$vboptions[forumhome].php" method="get">
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="892" align="center" colspan="3">
<tr>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table_left.png)"> </td>
<td width="860" align="center" valign="top" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table.png)">
<table width="100%">
<tr>
<td class="tfoot">
<if condition="$show['quickchooser']">
<select name="styleid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'style')">
<optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_style_chooser]">
$quickchooserbits
</optgroup>
</select>
</if>
</td>
<td class="tfoot">
<if condition="$show['languagechooser']">
<select name="langid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'lang')">
<optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_language_chooser]">
$languagechooserbits
</optgroup>
</select>
</if>
</td>
<td class="tfoot" align="$stylevar[right]">
<div class="smallfont">
<strong>
<if condition="$show['contactus']"><a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a> -</if>
<a href="$vboptions[homeurl]">$vboptions[hometitle]</a> -
<if condition="$show['admincplink']"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[admin]</a> -</if>
<if condition="$show['modcplink']"><a href="$modcpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[mod]</a> -</if>
<if condition="$vboptions['archiveenabled']"><a href="archive/index.php">$vbphrase[archive]</a> -</if>
<if condition="$vboptions[privacyurl]"><a href="$vboptions[privacyurl]">$vbphrase[privacy_statement]</a> -</if>
<a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;">$vbphrase[top]</a>
</strong>
</div>
</td>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table_right.png)"> </td>
</tr>
</table>
<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="892" align="center">
<tr>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url(images/styles/alturas8/misc/table_left.png)"> </td>
<td align="$stylevar[left]" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table.png)">
<div class="smallfont" align="left">$vbphrase[all_times_are_gmt_x_time_now_is_y]</div></td>
<td align="$stylevar[right]" style="background-image:url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/table.png)"><div class="smallfont"><strong>
<if condition="!$show['guest']">
<!-- member logout -->
<a href="login.php?$session[sessionurl]do=logout&logouthash=$bbuserinfo[logouthash]" onclick="return log_out()"><phrase 1="$bbuserinfo[username]">$vbphrase[log_out_x]</phrase></a>
<!-- end member logout -->
</if>
</strong>
</div>
</td>
<td width="16" align="left" valign="top" style="background-image:url(images/styles/alturas8/misc/table_right.png)"> </td>
</tr>
</table>
<br />
<div align="center">
<div class="smallfont" align="center">
<!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
$vbphrase[powered_by_vbulletin]
<!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
</div>
<div class="smallfont" align="center">
<!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->
$cronimage
<!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->
$vboptions[copyrighttext]
</div>
</div>
</form>
<if condition="$show['dst_correction']">
<!-- auto DST correction code -->
<form action="profile.php" method="post" name="dstform">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="dst" />
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var tzOffset = $bbuserinfo[timezoneoffset] + $bbuserinfo[dstonoff];
var utcOffset = new Date().getTimezoneOffset() / 60;
if (Math.abs(tzOffset + utcOffset) == 1)
{ // Dst offset is 1 so its changed
document.forms.dstform.submit();
}
//-->
</script>
<!-- / auto DST correction code -->
</if>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
// Main vBulletin Javascript Initialization
vBulletin_init();
//-->
</script>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- /content area table -->
</div>
I would suggest you wrap them in a table and center it. This way you can assign the page class to match the rest of style. I believe there are 2 <br /> page breaks above and below the time and logout. Remove them so the "page" is solid all the way through. (I didn't look at the footer code above, I am on my way out the door.)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.