View Full Version : World of Warcraft - Talent Calculator CMPS
Zachariah
04-14-2006, 10:00 PM
/* -----------------4/14/2006 8:00PM -----------------
World of Warcraft - Talent Calculator
Tested on:
vBulletin 3.5.4
vBadvanced CMPS v2.0.1
Zachariah - http://www.gzhq.net
Demo (http://www.gzhq.net/index.php?page=talent)
--------------------------------------------------*/
################################################## ########
Info and credits |
------------------
This is a little tool provided by Wowhead to calculate stats for Blizzard's World of Warcraft.
- Center Block (width: 375px to 500px)
Wowhead Talent Calculator Help - ? 2006 Marginal Team
-------------------------------------------------------
Link to this build - Provides a link to a new page with the current talent
setup already there! Useful (and intended) for showing friends a talent build.
In order to properly link to a build on the talent calculator page, please follow
these steps:
Make the build you'd like to link to.
Right-click the "Link to this build" link.
Select "Copy Shortcut" if you're using Internet Explorer, or "Copy Link Location" within Firefox.
To paste the URL, right-click and select "Paste."
Alternatively, you can left-click the "Link to this build" link and copy/paste the
URL from your browser's address bar.
Summary - Opens up a new page with a textual representation of your chosen talents. Nice if you want to paste the talents you've chosen somewhere, and would prefer it written out over just throwing links around.
Printable version - Opens up a new page that provides a textual representation of
your chosen talents. This differs from 'Summary' in that it tells exactly what the
talents do, the required level, and the actual build (7/23/21, for example).
Import from Blizzard's calculator - Provides a pop-up text window where you can
type in (or paste, that'd probably be easier) the URL of a talent build made with
Blizzard's calculator, to get converted to our much cooler format.
Zachariah
04-15-2006, 04:35 AM
1st Post
partyBoi
04-15-2006, 07:16 AM
Looks pretty cool. I'm an avid WoW player, too bad my forums aren't WoW related though.
:banana:
Phalynx
04-15-2006, 08:47 AM
Great thing, thanks
GamerzWorld
04-15-2006, 09:13 AM
Just tried to install on my board and nothing is loading. Didnt really understand the style.css part and therefore missed it... Maybe you could explain it better?
http://www.mirzone.net/indexalt.php?page=wowtalent
Just tried to install on my board and nothing is loading. Didnt really understand the style.css part and therefore missed it... Maybe you could explain it better?
http://www.mirzone.net/indexalt.php?page=wowtalent
The problem is that the module doesn't make the import correctly.
For everybody who has the same problem open the template: adv_portal_wowhead and overwrite the old code with this one:
<table align="center" border="0" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" class="tborder" width="100%">
<tr>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="$getbgrow" width="100%">
<script>
var mt_width = 500;
var mt_class = 1;
var mt_css =
</script>
<script src="http://www.wowhead.com/talent/include.js"></script>
</td>
</tr>
Zachariah
04-15-2006, 01:55 PM
The problem is that the module doesn't make the import correctly.
I had a feeling it was not going to work.
Hack updated
- Manual add of the module vs. import system.
I had a feeling it was not going to work.
Anyway it is a very good hack. :)
"Installed" ;)
BioVader
04-17-2006, 07:05 AM
Good deal.. I changed mine around a bit.. I took the script from vBRadio and modified it to have this script popup.
In the header find.
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="/forums/memberlist.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[members_list]</a></td>
Under it place:
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function Openwow(){
Talents = window.open('/forums/talents.html','Talents','directories=no,height=650 ,width=500,location=no,menubar=no,resizable=no,sta tus=no,toolbar=no')
return false;
}
-->
</script>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="#" onclick="return Openwow()">Talents</a></td>
Since I don't know how to do php I made an .html popup. So in notepad paste this info and save the file as talent.html and place it in your forum dir.
<head>
<title>WoW Talent Calculator</title>
</head>
<body bgcolor="#555555" leftmargin="0" topmargin="5" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<!-- PAGEHEADER -->
<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" width="100%" height="100%">
<td>
<script>
var mt_width = 500;
var mt_class = 1;
var mt_css = 'http://www.yoursite.com/forums/style.css';
</script>
<script src="http://www.wowhead.com/talent/include.js"></script>
</td>
</table>
</body>
Now open notepad again and make a file called style.css and cut and paste the following;
body { background: transparent }
Upload that file to your forum dir.
What would be cool would be to have this:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=45706&d=1145078853
in a CPMS side panel and when you click on the class it opens and popup for that class...
Prodimysterio
04-17-2006, 05:02 PM
Thanks for this nice addition! My community and I thank you.
:)
*installed*
Zachariah
04-17-2006, 05:55 PM
@ BioVader - nice :D
It would be easy to do a popup w/ the menu
Ideas
- Take that image in photoshop and cut out each image (make a link per image) and place the images in a block.
- Image map links onto that image and place it in a block or even a simple line of text links w/ little arrow bullet images.
- Make a vBdrop down menu like the breadcrumb menu.
I was looking @ the menu its is only a 20x196 jpg image strip with tables and rows.
<table id="mtwtcMenu3" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" onmouseover="mtwtc.MenuOver()" onmouseout="mtwtc.MenuOut()">
<tr><td style="padding-left: 2px"><div><b>Choose a class:</b></div></td></tr>
<tr><td style="background: #232323; height:3px"></td></tr>
<tr><td><div><a href="javascript:;" onmouseup="mtwtc.ChooseClass(0)">Druid</a></div></td></tr>
<tr><td><div><a href="javascript:;" onmouseup="mtwtc.ChooseClass(1)">Hunter</a></div></td></tr>
<tr><td><div><a href="javascript:;" onmouseup="mtwtc.ChooseClass(2)">Mage</a></div></td></tr>
<tr><td><div><a href="javascript:;" onmouseup="mtwtc.ChooseClass(3)">Paladin</a></div></td></tr>
<tr><td><div><a href="javascript:;" onmouseup="mtwtc.ChooseClass(4)">Priest</a></div></td></tr>
<tr><td><div><a href="javascript:;" onmouseup="mtwtc.ChooseClass(5)">Rogue</a></div></td></tr>
<tr><td><div><a href="javascript:;" onmouseup="mtwtc.ChooseClass(6)">Shaman</a></div></td></tr>
<tr><td><div><a href="javascript:;" onmouseup="mtwtc.ChooseClass(7)">Warlock</a></div></td></tr>
<tr><td><div><a href="javascript:;" onmouseup="mtwtc.ChooseClass(8)">Warrior</a></div></td></tr>
</table>
-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
Did You Know ?
mt_class (optional) If you have this variable set to a number, the calculator will be pre-set to show the talents for the corresponding class. If you don't have this variable in your script, then there will initially be a menu that lets the user choose which class to go with.
1 = Druid, 2 = Hunter, 3 = Mage, 4 = Paladin, 5 = Priest, 6 = Rogue, 7 = Shaman, 8 = Warlock, 9 = Warrior
<script>
var mt_width = 500;
var mt_class = 1;
var mt_css = 'http://www.yoursite.com/forums/style.css';
</script>
If you remove the line of code the Dropdown will be default page load vs. only 1 class.
noel_leon
08-11-2006, 05:55 AM
<font color="Lime">*Clicks Install*</font>
Thanks!
Kinneas
01-13-2007, 01:11 AM
Hmm, I think this is now out of date due to the new patch. I don't suppose anyone knows if they plan to update it? Still seems to link to the Patch 2.0.1 (12/05/2006) version for me.
Caerydd
01-24-2008, 04:21 PM
I'd be interested in a 3.6.8 version of this :) Very nice idea.
Caerydd
02-12-2008, 10:08 AM
Does not work any more, I think wowhead removed the api.
Zachariah
02-15-2008, 03:51 PM
ya I think they did.
- any idea if they have another version ?
Mother_Dee
04-07-2008, 07:03 PM
According to an email I received from wowhead, the embedded talent calculator has been totally removed as it was too difficult to keep updated and "was used by very few sites" but "we have been looking at reimplementing the capability in a new way."
(courtesy Malgayne - Community Manager)
I would love to see you guys pick this hack back up. I'll keep an eye out
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.