PDA

View Full Version : Direct link to vbgooglemap location


stonyarc
04-14-2006, 10:00 PM
Direct link to the vbgooglemap location

Function:

Display a direct link in the postbit to the vbgooglemap location.


Prerequisits:

The forum must be running vbgooglemap 2.0.2 or higher.
Click https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=99920

Don't forget to hit install here and on the vbgooglemap thread !!!!!!!

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/ (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=113055)

http://www.xboxusersgroup.com/images/sample07.jpg

Steps:

Add a field to your user (editable in profile) =>

vBulletin features a wide array of input options for you to gather information from your members through the creation of custom profile fields. With these fields you can present a list of options for the user to choose from or you can ask the user to give their own input.

STEP 1

Go to the adminCP and add a custom field => User Profile fields => Add New User Profile Field

You need a "Single-Line Text Box"

Title => googlemap
Description => vbgooglemap direct link
Default Value => Leave empty
Max length of allowed user input => 150
Display Size => 30
Display Order => put something like 10 or 15
Field Required => No as default but you can change if you want
Field Editable by User => Yes
Private Field => No the field is public
Field Searchable on Members List => No
Show on Members List => Yes
Regular Expression => leave empty

Save the field

Go to the User Profile Field Manager and look for your custom field you just added and look for the name column there is an ID for the field.
Something like "fieldXX" where XX is a number. Make sure you remember this value.


STEP 2

Go to the template you are using (Styles & Templates/Style Manager) and select Edit templates.

Go to "postbit templates" and select the template you are using (probably postbit or postbit_legacy).
and add the following code:

fieldXX is the field value you got from step 1.

You can embed the code in a div or a special table construction but that is up to you.

Code:
<if condition="$post[fieldXX]">
<a href="$post[fieldXX]" target=?_self?>$post[username]?s location</a>
</if>

(TIP: You can add this also to the MENBERINFO)

Entry of the data:

Go to ?your entry? on the googlemap (you have to logged in)
If you haven?t set your marker before the form will detect that. If you did enter the information you?ll see 3 text input boxes on top of the smaller map. The third on gives you the full URL to your location.

You can increase the zoom if you want, the link will adapt.

Make the user copy the string and go to the USER CP or edit profile

In USER CP paste the string in the googlemap field and you?re done. The postbit will now show a direct link to the map location for that user.

Feel free to support this mod and make a donation to admin@stonyarc.com

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2007/08/10.gif (https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_xclick&business=admin%40stonyarc%2ecom&no_shipping=0&no_note=1&tax=0&currency_code=EUR&bn=PP%2dDonationsBF&charset=UTF%2d8)

All code is (c)2006 StonyArc.

stonyarc
04-15-2006, 12:05 AM
Reserved

BANDiT600
04-15-2006, 12:06 AM
/me Installed

Snake
04-15-2006, 05:23 PM
Nice one! :)

stonyarc
04-15-2006, 08:32 PM
Nice one! :)

Thanks

vbgooglemap rulez:D

If you are looking for support on the vbgooglemap visit that thread. This thread is only for the post/memberinfo integration.

stonyarc
04-15-2006, 09:49 PM
Thanks

vbgooglemap rulez:D

If you are looking for support on the vbgooglemap visit that thread. This thread is only for the post/memberinfo integration.


If you location link opens the member username memu you need to move the link outside of that DIV and TD.

Otherwise the link will not redirect correctly and NOT open the map.

caliman
04-15-2006, 10:22 PM
Nice!
One question - how do I make it so it does not display googlemap URL in the 'additional information' box - it's so long that it is blowing out the table in the profile page.

EDIT - I tried changing it to a private field but this didn't do it.

stonyarc
04-15-2006, 10:37 PM
Nice!
One question - how do I make it so it does not display googlemap URL in the 'additional information' box - it's so long that it is blowing out the table in the profile page.

EDIT - I tried changing it to a private field but this didn't do it.

At the bottom you can change the Display Page in the userprofile field manager for that field.

caliman
04-16-2006, 12:00 AM
That did it, thanks! I changed it to 'other.'

cuphongle
04-16-2006, 12:31 AM
very nice

stonyarc
04-17-2006, 05:56 PM
very nice

Thanks Cuphongle,

I know it's a bit of work to install both the vbgooglemap 2.0.2 and this template modifications but I think it's worth it.

I find it very handy to be able to directly click on a postbit or memberinfo and get transfered to that users geo location on the map.

PS: I know I'm repeating myself but support for the map is in the other thread !!

caliman
04-17-2006, 06:28 PM
Would it be possible to have it only show the pins of the member you are looking at?

stonyarc
04-20-2006, 12:05 PM
Or, you could have two custom user fields, one the automatic one above, and another that users check themselves (radio button) called "link to location" or something, so they get a say in whether the icon shows up or not (of course, you just check for both in the postbit(_legacy).

I might do this myself if I get the time. I just feel your way involves too much effort on the part of the forum user.

I'll have a check if I can cook up something in the future version on vbgooglemap itself

JoeWho
04-28-2006, 11:18 AM
Have you considered making this automatic?

You could disable the field (not editable) run a check via scheduled tasks for an entry in the database and update the profilefield with the correct URL if there is one. Much the same way as I worked my vbadvanced gallery link in postbits (IF they have any images uploaded). Save user input, which is usually a good thing in my view.

mini2,

I agree...
I think this is a must, "making this automatic" or at lest make it so the default domain-address is automatic and the user just adds the data (lat=13.84411462921368&lng=-17.89286017417908&zoom=6) that would help!

Note: a user could put any web-address in the box... I don't have time to check them... do you want a link to a XXX web-site on your forum?:surprised:

Don't get me wrong I really like the idea of the link being in postbit's, but currently I consider this a security risk, what kind of data can be entered into that field, and what damage could be cause?

I just tested it, if the user hasn't filled in the information and someone clicks on a link in postbit it will open a blank page. I did set new registration to the default map page (Default Value = http//www.yourwebsite.com/forums/vbgooglemap.php) but what about all the users that are registered prior to this install, there is no data in that field. Yes... I know I could go into the database and manually insert this information... Oh' more fun.

.

stonyarc
04-28-2006, 12:46 PM
Just to let you know that this feature will be default in the next version of the member map and manageable from backend.

No more copy thingy.

Still working on the best way to do it but mini and you have some nice ideas going on.

/EDIT
I'll try to make it so that no additional datamanipulation is needed.

Brrrr is that a plugin that I feel there :D

rinkrat
04-28-2006, 01:25 PM
I'm hitting Install but I'll wait till the info is automated if they have entered the info in the googlemap already. Great idea, this hack is a real community builder.

randy.
05-01-2006, 03:52 AM
on my instalation all i get on the edit profile section is a textbox... where is the map??? i thought a link is to appear?

volarium
05-14-2006, 05:15 PM
Okay guys, I'm having the strangest problem. I installed Mini2's version of the hack, and it appeared to be working perfectly. Then I realized that I was getting SQL errors on some threads. Not all threads, only some threads. Here is the error I'm getting:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT userid,lat_map,username,lng_map FROM googlemapme WHERE userid =;

Since this is the query from googlemap_check.php, I'm assuming it has to do with this hack. After trying for hours to resolve the issue, in the interest of fixing my board, I finally decided to uninstall. So I turned off the scheduled task, I removed the code from postbit_legacy, and I actually removed the custom user profile field completely.

The problem is still there! I don't understand how pulling up a specific thread would execute this query at all. The whole reason Mini2 did it this way is to AVOID executing a query everytime a thread is opened. I've looked everywhere, and I can't figure out where this query is being executed when opening a thread. I suspect no one can help me with this mystery, but I just thought I'd ask. I'm sure it's something stupid that I missed, but I'm at a loss as to what to try next.

http://vfrworld.com/forums/vbgooglemapme.php

Thanks for any thoughts you may have.

volarium
05-16-2006, 11:20 PM
Update. I've narrowed down the problem to threads that contain a post by a user without a userID. Why would a user not have a userID? Two reasons:
1. I imported my boards from YABB, and some threads lost their corresponding user information (because the users had removed their accounts). These threads show up as being posted by "Guest".
2. I import messages from an external Listserv. These messages show the username from the Listserv, but since they were not posted by a user of my board, they do not have a userID.

However, I still can't figure out why the query would be executing. I removed the code from the postbit template, and removed the userfield containing the HTML.

Any ideas now?

volarium
05-17-2006, 12:37 AM
Hey Mini! I really appreciate your reply. Here is what I modified your script to:

<?^M
////////////////////////////////////////////^M
// MAKE SURE YOU EDIT THIS WHERE STATED //^M
// Then upload to /includes/cron/ //^M
////////////////////////////////////////////^M
^M
// Edit - Make sure this is correct^M
define('FILE_VERSION', '3.5.2'); // this should match install.php^M
^M
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);^M
if (!is_object($vbulletin->db))^M
{^M
exit;^M
}^M
^M
// Edit this line to reflect your database structure^M
$map_query=$vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT userid,lat_map,lng_map FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."googlemapme");^M
^M
// Make sure you set this field to the correct number! and set the link URL to your own map!^M
while ($inids = $vbulletin->db->fetch_array($map_query)) {^M
$posid = $inids[userid];^M
$vbulletin->db->query_write("UPDATE ".TABLE_PREFIX."userfield SET field8 = '<a href=\"http://www.vfrworld.com/forums
/vbgooglemapme.php?lat=$inids[lat_map]&lng=$inids[lng_map]&zoom=9\"><u>Find Me!</u></a>' WHERE ".TABLE_PREFIX."userfield
.userid = $posid");^M
}^M
^M
log_cron_action("map task updated", $nextitem);^M
?>

I changed your mod to point to googlemapme, so I still think it might be related. I don't know why vbgooglemap would be causing problems in showthread.php. Does my code above help at all? I'm really at a loss. :-(

I appreciate you trying to help, even if we can't figure it out.

volarium
05-17-2006, 12:58 AM
Yep, you're absolutely right. I installed the newest version, and that fixed it. Apologies for thinking it was your code. Looks like your code was doing the right thing all along. :-) Thanks mini, you really saved the day for me!!

bada_bing
05-17-2006, 03:22 AM
Can someone explain to me what this hack actually does? I have installed the latest version of googlemaps but not sure that this does?

Optionally what im looking for is a way a member can enter his location when registereing rather then having to do it manually afterwards

Ziki
05-20-2006, 08:16 AM
You could add txt file

stieger
03-22-2009, 10:01 AM
We7r aknn 7mir helfen beim installieren ?
Ich möchte das alle neu regsirteiretn User auf der Goog7le Karte angezeigt werden ?
Wer hilft mir ebenfalls die Deutsche Sprachdatei zu in7stallieren.