PDA

View Full Version : Product/Plugin Enhancements (PPE)


eXaulz
03-23-2006, 10:00 PM
Product/Plugin Enhancements (PPE)

www.eXcommunity.com (http://excommunity.com/)
v0.0.2

Product/Plugin Enhancements (PPE): New Version
New version, o.o.2 now only has 2 (yes, that's right - just 2!) queries.

PPE v0.0.2 now uses advanced caching techniques, reducing the query count by a LOT. Now, instead of querying the database every time a function in PPE is called, it just queries the DB 2 times (1 for products and 1 for plugins), and puts the information in an array. :banana:

What's PPE?

PPE is basically a set of useful functions to enhance the product/plugin functionality in vBulletin.


What can PPE do?
it can, at the moment, check to see if a product is active and/or a plugin is active, in both the vBulletin Templates and vBulletin Code (where the "global_start" plugin is called/global.php has been included).


How do I use PPE in my templates/code?
In your templates, simply use something like:

this to see if product id my_product_id is enabled/disabled


<if condition="product_is_active('my_product_id')">
Product Id 'my_product_id' is Enabled/Active!
<else />
Product Id 'my_product_id' is Disabled/Inactive!
</if>


this to see if plugin id my_plugin_id is enabled/disabled:

<if condition="plugin_is_active('my_plugin_id')">
Plugin Id 'my_plugin_id' is Enabled/Active!
<else />
Plugin Id 'my_plugin_id' is Disabled/Inactive!
</if>


The two functions at the moment that PPE includes are:

product_is_active(productid);
plugin_is_active(pluginid);


Questions, Comments, Suggestions, etc
Feel free to post all of your question, feedback, suggestions (anything) in this thread.

eXaulz
03-24-2006, 09:18 PM
First Post Reserved for Future Use

yes, I am trying to act cool :)

hiiped
03-24-2006, 11:31 PM
will test

thanks

Zia
03-25-2006, 01:34 AM
ah..helo...wondering....to see it...how it works out?
some thing similar allready releasde ...b4..

hope it can works...

Xplorer4x4
03-25-2006, 01:36 AM
Screen shots would be nice.

eXaulz
03-25-2006, 11:27 AM
Xplorer4x4,

I would post a screenshot, but, of what? Of the template editor with the code? :p

Sorry, but there really isn't anything I can take ascreenshots of (that is useful).

Zia
05-28-2006, 08:39 AM
what is going on around it?

Gizmo5h1t3
05-28-2006, 01:03 PM
so for the unititated, where would the code go, and what templates would you put it in??

akanevsky
05-28-2006, 01:10 PM
What is "plugin id"? Is that the numerical id of the plugin?

Boofo
05-28-2006, 02:18 PM
What does this do and what can it be used for? The first post is rather confusing.

eXaulz
06-07-2006, 05:36 PM
What is "plugin id"? Is that the numerical id of the plugin?
Yes.

What does this do and what can it be used for? The first post is rather confusing.
PPE can basically check to see if a certain product or plugin is active (or not). For example, it'll save you time, if you have a certain product that you switch on/off constantly. PPE, if you have added the product_is_active(); code to your templates, will check to see if the product is active. if it is, display the product's functions. If not, do nothing.

It's not the most useful thing out there, but it helps me alot.

Andreas
06-07-2006, 11:44 PM
<if condition="!empty($GLOBALS['vbulletin']->products['productid'])">
some staff here that should only show up if product productid is active
</if>

works without any additional plugins or queries.

eXaulz
06-08-2006, 07:48 PM
Cool.

almqdad
06-09-2006, 04:17 PM
hi

is it doing any good

have any one noticed any improvment