View Full Version : Stop moderators/ super-mods from changing titles
Nathan2006
03-14-2006, 08:00 PM
Hi,
I have just found out by mistake :rolleyes: lol that I can change a title on a thread by double clicking it.
Is there anyway I can stop Mods and super mods from changing titles in this way?
The reason I ask is because there is no log to tell me when a title is changed and I would prefer the mods to click on edit thread.
I have added a pic so you know what I mean
Thank you for any help :)
I didn't even know you could do that.. Doesn't clicking the title take you to the thread itself? Where are your mods clicking to change this?
Also, you can most likely do it with template edits and by using conditionals for udergroups. :)
Nathan2006
03-14-2006, 08:56 PM
I didn't even know you could do that.. Doesn't clicking the title take you to the thread itself? Where are your mods clicking to change this?
Also, you can most likely do it with template edits and by using conditionals for udergroups. :)
LOL its funny how it works but all you need to do is double click on the right-hand-side of the title and it will allow you to edit the title lol:D
I would love to know how to remove it just for mods and super mods tho and I'm not a coder or that good with code so I don't know what I would be looking for :(
I cannot find anything in the user groups but it looks as if its something to do with Super mods
cRaZy-BoY
03-14-2006, 09:35 PM
ok....
open functions_forumdisplay.php:
find:
can_moderate($thread['forumid'], 'caneditthreads')
replace with:
is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 6)
change "6" to the usergroups that you want to allowed to edit the title of the tread....
if you what a few groups...just separated the usergroupsID with a comma.. like:
is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 6, 4, 9, 56)
e-njoy.... ;)
Nathan2006
03-14-2006, 10:11 PM
Thank you cRaZy-BoY thats worked a treat :bunny:
Thanks again ;)
You can do the code edit, but I don't think it's worth it just for that. Editing source files makes upgrading a real pain.
I'm 99.999% positive you can do this with a simple template conditional.. I will look into it right now for myself too and post what I come up with.
Ok, I just did this on my own boards and it works, and is WAY easier than a template edit.
In template "threadbit"
Look for towards the top:
$thread[title_editable]
Replace with:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6">$thread[title_editable]</if>
Now only administrators can use this feature.
If you want just YOU, then put this instead:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[userid]==1">$thread[title_editable]</if>
(Assuming your userid is 1)
Try that instead of the code edit.
Nathan2006
03-15-2006, 12:11 AM
You can do the code edit, but I don't think it's worth it just for that. Editing source files makes upgrading a real pain.
I'm 99.999% positive you can do this with a simple template conditional.. I will look into it right now for myself too and post what I come up with.
Ok, I just did this on my own boards and it works, and is WAY easier than a template edit.
In template "threadbit"
Look for towards the top:
$thread[title_editable]
Replace with:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6">$thread[title_editable]</if>
Now only administrators can use this feature.
If you want just YOU, then put this instead:
<if condition="$bbuserinfo[userid]==1">$thread[title_editable]</if>
(Assuming your userid is 1)
Try that instead of the code edit.
Yeah I have a used the code now it says " you do not have permission" for mods (evil laugh):D
Thank you very much for finding the codes :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.