PDA

View Full Version : Show Thread Enhancements - copy to clipboard posts/threads after posting (Basic/Standard) editors


Omranic
02-11-2006, 10:00 PM
This Mod isn't supported any more!

Oh no! I just finished writting that long long post and the page didn't load.
I wish I would have made a copy in notepad. Too late for that.
I won't write it again.

After hearing that a couple hundred times I wrote this hack. When using Internet Explorer once you finished writing your post just double click any where inside the text area & whole your post will be copied to the clipboard, meaning that if the page doesn't load then you just press back in your browser, paste, and submit it again. Since most of us users forget to do a backup copy just in case this comes in handy.

Note: works on both Basic/Standard editors & it doesn't work on wysiwyg editor (i'll try to update it to work on wysiwyg editor but not now)

(screenshots?) I don't know how I would take screenshots for that. :)

its very simple
just two template edits


Go to template "editor_toolbar_on" &
find the following code:
<textarea name="message" id="{$editorid}_textarea" rows="10" cols="60" style="width:$stylevar[messagewidth]; height:{$editor_height}px" tabindex="1" dir="$stylevar[textdirection]">$newpost[message]</textarea>

Replace it by the following code:
<a ondblclick='java_script_:window.clipboardData.setD ata("Text",this.innerText); alert("Source Code copied into clipboard.");'><textarea name="message" id="{$editorid}_textarea" rows="10" cols="60" style="width:$stylevar[messagewidth]; height:{$editor_height}px" tabindex="1" dir="$stylevar[textdirection]">$newpost[message]</textarea></a>



Go to template "editor_toolbar_off" &
find the following code:
<textarea name="message" id="{$editorid}_textarea" rows="10" cols="60" style="width:$stylevar[messagewidth]; height:{$editor_height}px" tabindex="1">$newpost[message]</textarea>

Replace it by the following code:
<a ondblclick='java_script_:window.clipboardData.setD ata("Text",this.innerText); alert("Source Code copied into clipboard.");'><textarea name="message" id="{$editorid}_textarea" rows="10" cols="60" style="width:$stylevar[messagewidth]; height:{$editor_height}px" tabindex="1">$newpost[message]</textarea></a>


Don't Forget to Clik INSTALL (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=107774) if you like it

bashy
02-12-2006, 08:42 AM
Nice 1...
Tis a shame about the wyiswig though as i am sure most use that.... well i do
But have jst changed to the standard to test this out...

Thanks again..all working well

The Realist
02-12-2006, 08:49 AM
Can you please stick the details in a text file and attach it to your 1st post.

Snake
02-12-2006, 10:33 AM
Yeah please do that man..

Omranic
02-12-2006, 10:50 AM
I'll try to do that lateron & send you all update MSG

** Topic attached **

TTG
02-12-2006, 12:00 PM
very useful .. thanks

Clicked install

ImportPassion
02-12-2006, 01:30 PM
good idea, but you should try and do it on the onclick for the submit button, that way it is seamless and ppl don't have to remember to go and dblclick the textarea.

AshokForums.com
02-12-2006, 03:39 PM
* AshokForums.com clicks on install :)

simon.
02-12-2006, 04:18 PM
looks good...

bashy
02-12-2006, 06:41 PM
Hi...I have had to uninstall this i am afraid, there is a wee bug my friend
With this installed, you cannot turn a word into a hyperlink using the hyperlink button :(

Cheers anyway

Omranic
02-12-2006, 09:07 PM
With this installed, you cannot turn a word into a hyperlink using the hyperlink

Dear bashy your bug is from something else not from my hack
coz I tried it with all buttons & there is no possibility for that bug or error

bashy
02-12-2006, 09:13 PM
Thats weird m8 as i took out your edits and all is well again :)

TTG
02-12-2006, 11:41 PM
Dear bashy your bug is from something else not from my hack
coz I tried it with all buttons & there is no possibility for that bug or error


Have to agree .. had no problems at my place after using this.

Developer
02-13-2006, 06:39 AM
very nice installed

Omranic
02-14-2006, 05:34 AM
very nice installed

hope you all like it

vampireus
02-14-2006, 07:22 PM
Great :devious: Installed. I also like this idea

good idea, but you should try and do it on the onclick for the submit button, that way it is seamless and ppl don't have to remember to go and dblclick the textarea.

bing11
03-17-2006, 02:19 AM
love this hack ,but i cannot use it on 3.54

jilly
03-19-2006, 03:39 PM
any more updates? I am trying this out, seems like a great idea - also would be cool if there was a button on the editor toolbar that you could click to copy the text before you try to submit.

DrHUS
03-20-2006, 05:33 AM
how may we can add it to Quick Replay also?