View Full Version : how do i clear IPs logged
yayvb
02-06-2006, 04:41 PM
Hi,
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=892363
As you can see from the above thread and the marijuana online communities, overgrow.com and some other websites have been closed and records have been seized by canadian government officials.
My website is of similar content, and I just want to ensure my users that there is limited liability. I have IP logs set to display only to admin, but I am looking to no longer log ip addresses and delete existing logs.
How do I get rid of IPs logged in the database?
Paul M
02-06-2006, 05:00 PM
vBulletin Options > Message Posting and Editing Options > Log IP Addresses - set to "Do no Log".
You will need to run an sql query to clear old ip addresses, and delete all old database backups (or keep them where no one can find them except you).
update post set ipaddress = '';
nitro
02-06-2006, 06:47 PM
Dont forget the webserver itself logs aswell.
yayvb
02-06-2006, 07:48 PM
Hmm, and I suppose my cpanel webalizer and other various preintalled stat scripts store this info too, to some extent. Atleast it doesn't make it super easy and associate a username with ip address.
I'm not so sure any government parties in the U.S. would actually use the IP information. But I guess we could all speculate.
PaulM thanks for the help, I'm doing this now. I wonder if their IP addresses will still be stored in the database for each member or whatever.
I just searched for some IP addresses and found all the places they are stored. I use vbgallery so I ran
UPDATE adv_gallery_images SET ipaddress ='';
UPDATE adv_gallery_posts SET ipaddress='';
Then I ran this. Obviously if you don't use the gallery above don't bother running the above queries, they won't succeed. Of course these 2 queries are in addition to what paul said above. Just to be thorough.
UPDATE search SET ipaddress='';
UPDATE user SET ipaddress='';
I'm sure you can't be thorough enough, this is only to make things not so easy in the event your site winds up like overgrow.
yayvb
02-11-2006, 04:05 AM
Then to stop the registration section from updating the new users user table with the ipaddress you find this in your register.php file:
$userdata->set('ipaddress', IPADDRESS);
& replace it with this
$userdata->set('ipaddress','');
save upload, be sure to rerun the update on your user table above......
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.