View Full Version : "Who Is Online (Shouting)" in the vbShout shoutbox
Hellcat
01-22-2006, 10:00 PM
The original vbShout is required for this (obviously) and can be downloaded here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=93097
Because my members keep using the shoutbox more as a chat room, they asked if it would be possible to get a list of users currently online/participating in the shoutbox.
OK, and this is what I smashed together as an answer to this request :)
This addon adds an IRC like userlist to the right side of the shoutbox.
Like the shoutbox itself, the userlist gets updated with AJAX calls as well, so it's always up-to-date, no reloading required :)
Technically it shows a list of everyone who shouted in the last three minutes.
Who hasn't shouted for three minutes is considered "to be somewhere else" and no longer available to talk to, and so does not get listed anymore.
*INSTALLATION*
================
Is pretty easy.
Just upload the "vbshoutwol.php" to your forums root (i.e. .../forum/) and do the two edits (described in the README) to the "forumhome_vbshout" template for all styles you wanna use the WOL list on.
If you have the "Template Manager" installed on your board you can simply import the template .XML also included in this archive - this saves you the manual edits :)
"Template Manager" can be found here:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=91038
Have fun!
cheech4487
01-22-2006, 11:37 PM
Installed and works flawlessly! Thanx!!!
For anyone that is not too sure where to add the final code edit :-
Find :
requestShouts()
It's the one at the bottom of the forumhome_vbshout template :)
Useful .. thanks for the hack Hellcat
Clicked install
ze_roberto
01-23-2006, 03:06 AM
Great Hack, Congratz!
I'm actually going to transfer the shoutbox on the Javachat page, in order to have a multiple shoutbox / irc java chat page :D
Just a quick question: Is the one below the line to manipulate the time a user is show to be "online" ?
$tframe = time() - (60 * 3);
I guess the "3" is the number in minutes (vbshoutwol.php, line 8)
cheers, ze :raucher:
Snake
01-23-2006, 06:12 AM
Thanks, works like a charm!
Red Blaze
01-23-2006, 11:47 AM
This is pretty cool, I'll add this asap. :)
Hellcat
01-23-2006, 01:25 PM
Glad you like it :)
Just a quick question: Is the one below the line to manipulate the time a user is show to be "online" ?
$tframe = time() - (60 * 3);
I guess the "3" is the number in minutes (vbshoutwol.php, line 8)
Yes, that's right.
You might chance this to whatever suits best for you :)
SuperJETT
01-23-2006, 02:11 PM
Excellent!
Gizmo5h1t3
01-23-2006, 04:28 PM
used the template manager, and installed it in seconds...flawless!!
GamerJunk.net
01-23-2006, 06:26 PM
<a href="http://www.gsnforce.com/forum/index.php?" target="_blank">http://www.gsnforce.com/forum/index.php?</a>
Mine just keeps constantly loading
Hellcat
01-23-2006, 08:48 PM
http://www.gsnforce.com/forum/index.php?
Mine just keeps constantly loading
Looks like you either forgot to upload "vbshoutwol.php" or you put in the wrong dir.
When I try to access http://www.gsnforce.com/forum/vbshoutwol.php I get a "404 - File not found".
Mackem1979
01-23-2006, 09:38 PM
just a small point i am sure i will be corrected if wrong but i see [/code] beneath your whos shouting box. I didnt add that to my code as i thought it looked wrong and mine works so try that??????
S@NL - BlackBik
01-23-2006, 09:48 PM
I've tried to install it, but I keep getting this error in the Users online box:
Notice: Undefined index: HTTP_REFERER in F:\Inetpub\Sites\forum.seti.nl\includes\class_core .php on line 1573
Line 1573 in class_core says:
define('REFERRER', $_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER']);
Do you have any idea what's wrong?
BTW, you left a [/code] tag in the readme, right behind the first replacement ;)
Hellcat
01-23-2006, 11:18 PM
Hmm, no idea what's up with that class_core error....
Looks like some problem with PHP's autoglobals....
But yes, the [/code] shouldn't have been there.... shame on me ;)
I already uploaded an updated ZIP where I removed that tag from the README :)
S@NL - BlackBik
01-23-2006, 11:52 PM
We're running PhP 4.4.1
Could that be the problem?
We're gonna upgrade shortly.
Hellcat
01-24-2006, 12:41 AM
We're running PhP 4.4.1
Could that be the problem?
We're gonna upgrade shortly.
Hmm, I have the same version on my server where it runns without problems.
You only get this when running this addon?
mbader71
01-24-2006, 03:35 AM
Installed it
translated it to arabic
loved it
thanks alot man I appreciate this
S@NL - BlackBik
01-24-2006, 03:14 PM
Hmm, I have the same version on my server where it runns without problems.
You only get this when running this addon?
Unfortunatly the answer is yes.
rinkrat
01-24-2006, 03:24 PM
Sweet! This should be part of the next Shoutbox update!
S@NL - BlackBik
01-24-2006, 08:12 PM
Update, the above mentioned error only appears in FireFox. But I still see the people that are online.
In Internet Explorer it just works fine.
S@NL - BlackBik
01-24-2006, 09:26 PM
It seemes that in FireFox the HTTP_REFERER isn't always given.
I tried this: if ($_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER'] == "") { $HTTP_REFERER = "http://my.page.nl/"; }
But that doesn't do the trick.
Any ideas?
Hellcat
01-25-2006, 12:23 AM
It seemes that in FireFox the HTTP_REFERER isn't always given.
I tried this: if ($_SERVER['HTTP_REFERER'] == "") { $HTTP_REFERER = "http://my.page.nl/"; }
But that doesn't do the trick.
Any ideas?
I will take a look into this.... can't promise anything, but I'll try :)
* Hellcat fires up FireFox
mbader71
01-25-2006, 09:20 AM
Is it possible to change the three minutes limit and how??
S@NL - BlackBik
01-25-2006, 09:46 AM
I will take a look into this.... can't promise anything, but I'll try :)
* Hellcat fires up FireFox
Thanks in advance, Hellcat :)
S@NL - BlackBik
01-25-2006, 09:47 AM
Great Hack, Congratz!
I'm actually going to transfer the shoutbox on the Javachat page, in order to have a multiple shoutbox / irc java chat page :D
Just a quick question: Is the one below the line to manipulate the time a user is show to be "online" ?
$tframe = time() - (60 * 3);
I guess the "3" is the number in minutes (vbshoutwol.php, line 8)
cheers, ze :raucher:
@mbader71: Change 3 into any limit you want :)
This line is found in vbshoutwol.php at line #8
mbader71
01-25-2006, 09:52 AM
@mbader71: Change 3 into any limit you want :)
This line is found in vbshoutwol.php at line #8
thank you :up:
Freakpyromaniac
01-25-2006, 06:48 PM
***INstalled***
With the template manager all work perfect and been done in 2 minutes.
Thnx m8
GamerJunk.net
01-26-2006, 04:38 AM
Thanks, yea I uploaded it to the wrong folder haha
rantrave
01-26-2006, 02:58 PM
This addon adds an IRC like userlist to the right side of the shoutbox.
Like the shoutbox itself, the userlist gets updated with AJAX calls as well, so it's always up-to-date, no reloading required
I'm finding that it only updates if you, the user, is typing into the shoutbox. If you are just reading the previous shouts, it does not update along with shouts that are being cast. Any ideas?
S@NL - BlackBik
01-29-2006, 11:28 AM
I will take a look into this.... can't promise anything, but I'll try :)
* Hellcat fires up FireFox
I've been looking in it for myself and I found a "quick and dirty" sollution.
At the top of the script I added this line:
error_reporting(E_ALL ^ E_NOTICE);
This supresses the Notice errors.
It's not pretty, but it does the trick in Firefox :)
Edit: Actualy I see this code a lot in vBulletin scripts. I guess it's not so dirty after all :D
mrcrx
02-08-2006, 07:57 PM
I tried installing this but it just says loading.
I uploaded the 1 file to my forums folder.
I moded the templates.
any pointers? thanks.
Hellcat
02-08-2006, 10:22 PM
Weird.
This usually means the .PHP file isn't sending any response.
Can you give me a URL to take a closer look?
mrcrx
02-09-2006, 11:44 AM
It was my fault. When i did a search for requestShouts() it put me in the middle of the page, where the requestShouts() I was looking for was at the bottom. installed and working perfect. thank you.
o0Hubba0o
02-12-2006, 04:06 PM
It was my fault. When i did a search for requestShouts() it put me in the middle of the page, where the requestShouts() I was looking for was at the bottom. installed and working perfect. thank you.
For anyone that is not too sure where to add the final code edit :-
Find :
requestShouts()
It's the one at the bottom of the forumhome_vbshout template :)
Useful .. thanks for the hack Hellcat
Clicked install
That should be specified in the installation read-me since there are multiple instances of requestShouts().
EDIT: Who's shouting show's up underneath the shout box in firefox for me, if it floats left its under the shoutbox on the left. It I have it float right, it's under the empty space on the right where it should be. In IE it's fine.
Luggruff
02-16-2006, 10:16 PM
http://www.luggruff.se/shoutwolwhat.PNG
why is this?? And how can I make it right? o_0
this is my template code at the moment:
<div id="vbshout" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:88%;float:left;">
Loading...
</div>
<div id="vbshoutwol" class="alt2" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:12%;float:right;">
<div id="vbshoutwolhd" class="tcat">Shouting:</div>
<div id="vbshoutwolusers">
Loading...
</div>
</div>
<div style="clear:both;"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" border="0" hight="1" width="1" /></div>
tried setting the 12% one to right, didn't make any difference.. just switched sides..
what is causing the line to break here?? o_0
o0Hubba0o
02-17-2006, 12:05 AM
http://www.luggruff.se/shoutwolwhat.PNG
why is this?? And how can I make it right? o_0
this is my template code at the moment:
<div id="vbshout" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:88%;float:left;">
Loading...
</div>
<div id="vbshoutwol" class="alt2" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:12%;float:right;">
<div id="vbshoutwolhd" class="tcat">Shouting:</div>
<div id="vbshoutwolusers">
Loading...
</div>
</div>
<div style="clear:both;"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" border="0" hight="1" width="1" /></div>
tried setting the 12% one to right, didn't make any difference.. just switched sides..
what is causing the line to break here?? o_0
Same problem as me, are you using firefox? Because in IE it shows up fine, I hope someone who knows more about this than me will respond soon, I really like this feature, but where it's at is annoying.
Hellcat
02-17-2006, 01:32 AM
I'm already on it :)
[EDIT]
I just tried my own forum in FireFox and it works fine, so it should something else.
o0Hubba0o
02-17-2006, 01:34 AM
I'm already on it :)
[EDIT]
I just tried my own forum in FireFox and it works fine, so it should something else.
Thanks alot Hellcat, really appreciate!
Edit: Oh, well I'll dig around and see, any idea what could affect the placement of the who's shouting box?
Hellcat
02-17-2006, 01:37 AM
I guess it's just another <div> issue.... well, we'll see :)
o0Hubba0o
02-17-2006, 01:38 AM
I guess it's just another <div> issue.... well, we'll see :)
Yeah, I'll mess around with the <div>'s and see if it helps anywhere.
Hellcat
02-17-2006, 02:21 AM
Hmm.... I tested the snipped posted, in FF and IE - both worked fine.
So I have no clue why it's so off for you.
But you can try to put the shoutbox and the WOL inside a table, as a workaround.
To do this, replace the snippet post by this one:
<table width="100%"><tr><td width="88%">
<div id="vbshout" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:100%;float:left;">
Loading...
</div>
</td><td width="12%">
<div id="vbshoutwol" class="alt2" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:100%;float:right;">
<div id="vbshoutwolhd" class="tcat">Shouting:</div>
<div id="vbshoutwolusers">
Loading...
</div>
</div>
</td></tr></table>
This puts it into a table with one row for the shoutbox itself and one for the WOL.
Luggruff
02-17-2006, 08:41 AM
Hmm.... I tested the snipped posted, in FF and IE - both worked fine.
So I have no clue why it's so off for you.
But you can try to put the shoutbox and the WOL inside a table, as a workaround.
To do this, replace the snippet post by this one:
<table width="100%"><tr><td width="88%">
<div id="vbshout" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:100%;float:left;">
Loading...
</div>
</td><td width="12%">
<div id="vbshoutwol" class="alt2" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:100%;float:right;">
<div id="vbshoutwolhd" class="tcat">Shouting:</div>
<div id="vbshoutwolusers">
Loading...
</div>
</div>
</td></tr></table>
This puts it into a table with one row for the shoutbox itself and one for the WOL.
Thanks, works like a charm !
But one thing though: am I totally off or don't you have to use z-index (layers) on divs if you want to place them beside eachother?
I mean, a div "owns" the row it is in, as you can set it to left, center and right.
That's my experience as a html/css coder =\
o0Hubba0o
02-17-2006, 11:25 PM
All I did was in the forumhome_vbshout, in this part here...
<div id="vbshout" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:88%;float:left;">
Loading...
</div>
<div id="vbshoutwol" class="alt2" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:12%;float:left;">
<div id="vbshoutwolhd" class="tcat">Shouting:</div>
<div id="vbshoutwolusers">
Loading...
</div>
</div>
<div style="clear:both;"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" border="0" hight="1" width="1" /></div>
...I deleted the part in red, the: class="alt2". And it's working like a charm in IE and FF.
OWNAGE TIME
03-10-2006, 12:34 AM
So xbf2.com/forums in firefox its going under it. Anyhelp.
~Ownage
Hellcat
03-10-2006, 01:24 AM
So xbf2.com/forums in firefox its going under it. Anyhelp.
~Ownage
Some people seem to have this.
See a few posts above for some ways to get it right :)
obmob
03-23-2006, 06:20 PM
:( wol is not refreshing automatically, you must refresh the whole page to get it to show who is online.
Am i doing something wrong?
zell_11
04-05-2006, 09:38 PM
There is errors in Fire Fox with it not being at the side but at the bottom. Anyway to fix this?
o0Hubba0o
04-05-2006, 09:44 PM
There is errors in Fire Fox with it not being at the side but at the bottom. Anyway to fix this?
Yes by reading this whole thread? Hehe, just messing but post number #43 or so:
All I did was in the forumhome_vbshout, in this part here...
<div id="vbshout" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:88%;float:left;">
Loading...
</div>
<div id="vbshoutwol" class="alt2" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:12%;float:left;">
<div id="vbshoutwolhd" class="tcat">Shouting:</div>
<div id="vbshoutwolusers">
Loading...
</div>
</div>
<div style="clear:both;"><img src="$vboptions[cleargifurl]" border="0" hight="1" width="1" /></div>
...I deleted the part in red, the: class="alt2". And it's working like a charm in IE and FF.
I had the same problem as you and this is how I fixed it.
ShadowOne
04-12-2006, 01:18 PM
Hmm.... I tested the snipped posted, in FF and IE - both worked fine.
So I have no clue why it's so off for you.
But you can try to put the shoutbox and the WOL inside a table, as a workaround.
To do this, replace the snippet post by this one:
<table width="100%"><tr><td width="88%">
<div id="vbshout" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:100%;float:left;">
Loading...
</div>
</td><td width="12%">
<div id="vbshoutwol" class="alt2" style="overflow:auto;height:{$vboptions['shout_box_height']}px;width:100%;float:right;">
<div id="vbshoutwolhd" class="tcat">Shouting:</div>
<div id="vbshoutwolusers">
Loading...
</div>
</div>
</td></tr></table>
This puts it into a table with one row for the shoutbox itself and one for the WOL.
That Fixed The Problem For Me On Firefox...
Snake
04-28-2006, 12:56 PM
Thanks for the hack. I have it installed on my forums. :)
www.bonethugsforums.com
RemiAlone
05-17-2006, 07:16 AM
Great addon! click!
robgeo
06-20-2006, 02:08 PM
Looks like you either forgot to upload "vbshoutwol.php" or you put in the wrong dir.
When I try to access http://www.gsnforce.com/forum/vbshoutwol.php I get a "404 - File not found".
I am getting the same error and I have installed the files in the "forums" directory. I even uninstalled everything and tried to re-install just the shoutbox and I keep getting the same message "loading". What am i doing wrong>?
www.letsconverse.net
Hellcat
06-24-2006, 11:30 AM
What do you get when accessing the wol script directely in your browser?
Mischievious
07-14-2006, 11:09 PM
How do I make the height of the table circled in the below image shorter?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/
Thank you! In advance! :)
Mischievious
07-20-2006, 03:00 PM
How do I make the height of the table circled in the below image shorter?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v715/MischievousSpirit/vbshoutboxwol.jpg
Thank you! In advance! :)
Is there anyone out there who can help with this? :)
Mischievious
08-03-2006, 12:02 AM
Not ONE SOUL can be helpful with my question on this huge site of hackers? Ignore the little guy. I see how it is. ;)
Shazz
08-03-2006, 12:12 AM
It causes many errors -.-
________
buy digital scale (http://www.vaporshop.com/scales)
robgeo
08-03-2006, 01:37 AM
I gave up on this hack weeks ago.
Shazz
08-03-2006, 01:42 AM
I gave up on this hack weeks ago.
Its easier to install then shoutbox itself..
________
marijuana medical (http://medicalmarijuana.us/)
Muellmann
08-09-2006, 05:19 PM
Just for Info: Works with vb 3.60 gold and with the new version of vbshout from vbhackers too ;)
Chicago_VLNU_4s
09-22-2006, 01:17 AM
this is very nice! INSTALLED!
tekstylez
01-06-2007, 02:41 PM
tried installing this... I was getting
"Loading...." and nothing would happen, so I uninstalled the hack, still "loading...." Then, I completely uninstalled vbshout, reinstalled, still the same problem... Any help here?
Doc.Blade
01-07-2007, 12:48 AM
Seems to work perfectly with vBulletin 3.6.4, great stuff!
Nathan2006
01-26-2007, 03:12 PM
Thanks Hell cat :)
Install
zemic
01-26-2007, 04:25 PM
Anyone come accross a problem with a user being stuck in the list of chatters?? I've got a user there for a couple of weeks now. Doesnt make a difference if he comes online or not his name is there.
I've tried disabling all plugins. Reverted templates. Put the code back in the templates. No joy. This "list" of active users must be stored somewhere, but where? No database table was created, so I cant think where.
Any ideas?
zemic
01-26-2007, 04:36 PM
Simple and effective............Re-installed VBShout. Didnt have to take off this mod as well. If someone has an easier way of doing it, please post. But if you're desperate for a solution, this works :)
Mischievious
02-09-2007, 08:26 PM
I keep getting an Unknown Location for this plugin in the who's online list, when I want it to show "Viewing Index". Is there anyone out there who can fix this for me? Thanks!
All_Starzes
03-14-2007, 10:32 AM
Hello....
This hack for the Shoutbox vb 2.1 is great but i have an error in Internet Explorer....
In Firefox its all perfect.
erro ist in IE 'User' is null or no object... in this code snip:
function showUsers()
{
if (UserRequest)
{
if (UserRequest.handler.readyState == 4 && UserRequest.handler.status == 200 && UserRequest.handler.responseText)
{
Users = fetch_object('vbshoutwolusers')
Users.innerHTML = UserRequest.handler.responseText
setTimeout('requestUsers()', 10000)
}
}
}
I hope someone can help me.... please...
i will be crazy :confused: :confused: :confused:
dbirosel
03-15-2007, 11:07 PM
Hello....
This hack for the Shoutbox vb 2.1 is great but i have an error in Internet Explorer....
In Firefox its all perfect.
erro ist in IE 'User' is null or no object... in this code snip:
function showUsers()
{
if (UserRequest)
{
if (UserRequest.handler.readyState == 4 && UserRequest.handler.status == 200 && UserRequest.handler.responseText)
{
Users = fetch_object('vbshoutwolusers')
Users.innerHTML = UserRequest.handler.responseText
setTimeout('requestUsers()', 10000)
}
}
}
I hope someone can help me.... please...
i will be crazy :confused: :confused: :confused:
Works great on opera and ie right now. Question how do i set the width, my username is Caraudiojunkyard.com and the horizontal scrollbar shows up.
dbirosel
03-15-2007, 11:28 PM
Nevermind it was a easy fix for the width! Thank you!! :D I love this!!
rjmjr69
03-16-2007, 07:21 AM
Will this work with VBshout2.1?
dbirosel
03-16-2007, 12:28 PM
Working fine for me.. i'm using the flat also.
rjmjr69
03-16-2007, 10:48 PM
ok as far as the importing of the XML file with the template manager what do I do to do that? I do not want to mess things up. Can someone please explain what are the procedures to import it
dj_melayu
04-04-2007, 08:53 PM
I wonder why after I installing and using this mood, everytime I go to online.php,
It doesn't show the correct position of user. It oftenly show /vbshoutwol.php
Anyone have an idea how to fix this? :)
Thanks
many thanks for this ... worked ok form the box :)
Kars10
04-17-2007, 06:29 PM
I wonder why after I installing and using this mood, everytime I go to online.php,
It doesn't show the correct position of user. It oftenly show /vbshoutwol.php
Anyone have an idea how to fix this? :)
Thanks
Same here. :(
thanks hellcat..i really love your hack
FreshFroot
04-30-2007, 11:56 PM
I wonder if this works for vb 3.6.5.. i'll try it out and see what happens. I know it worked fine on 3.5
Phoebus
12-17-2007, 01:17 AM
That should be specified in the installation read-me since there are multiple instances of requestShouts().
EDIT: Who's shouting show's up underneath the shout box in firefox for me, if it floats left its under the shoutbox on the left. It I have it float right, it's under the empty space on the right where it should be. In IE it's fine.
In case anyone's still having this problem, I can help, as I just fixed it recently (in Firefox, using vB v.3.5.2)...
In your forum admin, Styles & Templates / Style Manager, go to the forumhome_vbshout template and look for this line:
<div id="vbshoutwol" class="alt2" style="overflow:auto;height:100px;width:12%;float:left;">
and change it to
<div id="vbshoutwol" class="alt2" style="overflow:auto;height:100px;width:11%;float:right;">
It's these two variables in particular that needed to be changed:
width:12%;float:left;
changing them to:
width:11%;float:right;
Save & Reload and check it and see.
You may need to play around with the width, making it slightly smaller (say, 10%). But 11% fixed it for me.
I've got it on my forums at http://forums.raven-games.com
Best of luck!
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.