PDA

View Full Version : nav bar template - new posts


samhail
11-20-2005, 01:49 PM
I want to have the New Posts link to be linked to Recent posts(last 24hours)

to this link: ./search.php?do=getdaily

there is a variable $show['member'] in the code that will do it by just changing that option... but i dont know where to change that variable :(
anyone know how ? obviously its a user option... but i want to change it as default in the forums.

<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
<else />
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
</if>

From the navbar template page.

samhail
11-20-2005, 01:51 PM
ohoh... i think i put this in the wrong thread :(

i just need help. sorry mods

Jenta
11-20-2005, 03:25 PM
change all that to just this....

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>

Basically you are just leaving the highlighted text...

<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
<else />
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
</if>

I might add that your users may not like this. Especially with the new marking system for post...presuming your on 3.5. It's your forum and your choice of course. Just offering an alternative here for you.
To leave both Get New and Get Todays do it like this.....

<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
<else />
<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getdaily" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[todays_posts]</a></td>
</if>

samhail
11-21-2005, 03:30 PM
Thanks... nice one :)...

but there is an if statement there so obviously $show['member'] is a user defined variable somewhere... maybe it would be better just to find out where that is set ?

if its not immedietely apparent then i can just hack the code as such

Jenta
11-21-2005, 03:49 PM
Oh sorry, I didnt read your first post closely enough. Sorry

That variable means someone is registered. There isn't much you can do with something like that. They either are registered or they are not.

Btw, mods: why is this still on the front page over a day later?

peterska2
11-21-2005, 06:12 PM
@ Jenta: did you report it? If not, then it won't be moved. The report posts/mods function is also the chief way of reporting incorrectly posted threads like this one.

I've just done it anyway, but just so you know for next time.

Jenta
11-21-2005, 08:57 PM
Oh, I know about it. Seeing at it's on the front page they can see it just like we can see it. ;)