View Full Version : Quick Reply Thread Management
-=Sniper=-
11-08-2005, 10:00 PM
############################################
##############--Bought to you by--###############
Talk Coding - Programming Forums
(http://www.talkcoding.com)
##########--Free / Premium vBulletin Solutions--#########
############################################
Big thanks to Dark Visor for creating a product :) also Nomb...for letting us port 3.0.8 version here (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?s=&threadid=65491)
what it does
Two new checkboxes will be available in the quick reply box for those that have permission. One checkbox to Open / Close the thread, and one checkbox to Stick / Unstick the thread. You simply check off what you?d like to do and submit a post at the same time. Very convenient if you need to close threads quickly, but also want to leave a reason why.
In SHOWTHREAD template find
<div>
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['signature']">
<div style="float:$stylevar[right]"><label for="cb_signature"><input type="checkbox" name="signature" value="1" id="cb_signature" tabindex="5" checked="checked" />$vbphrase[show_your_signature]</label></div>
</if>
<label for="qr_quickreply"><input type="checkbox" name="quickreply" value="1" id="qr_quickreply" accesskey="w" tabindex="4" />$vbphrase[quote_message_in_reply]</label>
</div>
ADD UNDERNEATH:$threadmanagement
all done.
Keyser S?ze
11-09-2005, 10:17 PM
great! installing now
not showing up, and where do u put the phrases, global, show thread, or what
akanevsky
11-09-2005, 10:33 PM
Screenshot please?
Also:
1. You should not use iif(). It's deprecated. ;) Use (COND ? DO_ON_TRUE : DO_ON_FALSE) clause instead.
2. Why make new phrases? The phrases are already in the database. Take the ones that you see in advanced reply form ;)
3. $bbuserinfo['userid']??? That's not a variable in vBulletin 3.5.0 (unless it's in a template).
4. The only thing you need to have in your conditional is "can_moderate($threadinfo['forumid'], 'canopenclose')". Everything is not required.
5. You can do your decisions in template, no need for extra variables.
-=Sniper=-
11-09-2005, 10:36 PM
is it showing up on quick reply? I update it for the new thread/reply page now.
-=Sniper=-
11-09-2005, 10:57 PM
thanks dude, I'm pretty new to this, so feel free to post the suggested code and I will post credit to you.
I know parts of it can be done in templates, (the part that shows the tick box/s only to mods/admins, I assume?)
akanevsky
11-09-2005, 11:11 PM
Here you go buddy :)
As for the template edits:
There is a correction (see below), plus the newreply edit is not needed.
Valid edit would be:
In SHOWTHREAD, find
<div>
<if condition="$bbuserinfo['signature']">
<div style="float:$stylevar[right]"><label for="cb_signature"><input type="checkbox" name="signature" value="1" id="cb_signature" tabindex="5" checked="checked" />$vbphrase[show_your_signature]</label></div>
</if>
<label for="qr_quickreply"><input type="checkbox" name="quickreply" value="1" id="qr_quickreply" accesskey="w" tabindex="4" />$vbphrase[quote_message_in_reply]</label>
</div>
ADD UNDERNEATH:
$threadmanagement
I changed the template and the code itself a bit, look at it :)
Also, I added a plugin that caches your template, cause it was uncached ;)
-=Sniper=-
11-09-2005, 11:21 PM
thanks man, I have updated the first post :)
akanevsky
11-09-2005, 11:24 PM
No problem, but you should also remove the newreply edit. It doesn't do anything.
WNxWakko
11-10-2005, 02:18 AM
:) Thank you. Installed
Boofo
11-10-2005, 02:24 AM
How about some sort of explanation in the first post as to what this does? ;)
Oddish
11-10-2005, 06:00 AM
Uh... what does it do?
-=Sniper=-
11-10-2005, 07:02 AM
How about some sort of explanation in the first post as to what this does? ;)
done.
Boofo
11-10-2005, 07:31 AM
Thank you, sir. ;)
Now, could you please put the instructions in a text file (the template edit) so members can have it available if they ever need to upgrade and not have to search here for it later on? ;)
And great job with the hack. I've been waiting for this myself. ;)
SnowBot
11-10-2005, 12:49 PM
Installed and works fine :)
phonexpo
11-10-2005, 01:12 PM
Installed, thank you.
COBRAws
11-10-2005, 01:45 PM
leet
BlackRanger3d
11-10-2005, 02:06 PM
Installed, SWEET.
Thanks
Snake
11-10-2005, 06:46 PM
Installed.
SHANE-D-PAIN
11-10-2005, 09:09 PM
Installing now, great work. Was looking for soemthing like this!
GamerJunk.net
11-13-2005, 02:04 AM
Installed awesome! Any plans to add "Edit Thread" options to it?
akanevsky
11-13-2005, 02:10 AM
Any plans to add "Edit Thread" options to it?
What do you mean?
WNxWakko
11-13-2005, 03:35 AM
Not sure anyone else noticed yet, but the close thread works, but if the thread is closed and you try the open thread it does not work. The thread remains closed.
Then if you use the thread tools to reopen it, then if you try and close it with the quick reply, it wont close it.
akanevsky
11-13-2005, 11:24 AM
Not sure anyone else noticed yet, but the close thread works, but if the thread is closed and you try the open thread it does not work. The thread remains closed.
Then if you use the thread tools to reopen it, then if you try and close it with the quick reply, it wont close it.
Did you try refreshing the page after using quick reply thread management?
-=Sniper=-
11-13-2005, 04:21 PM
edit thread option, what do you mean?
you need to refresh the page, since the ajax quick reply does not refresh the whole page.
GamerJunk.net
11-14-2005, 08:33 PM
"Edit Thread" such as changing the thread title within the quick reply box, like click the button for Edit Thread and type in a clode like /changetitle New Thread Title.
-=Sniper=-
11-15-2005, 01:37 PM
hmm, I like the idea. Added to my todo list, I might need help making it so I will post in the mod help section...
Heres what I'm thinking. On top of the quick reply, you will have a tick box, on clicking it will enable to text box, which will have the current title thread, which you can change.
Exernon
12-13-2005, 12:35 AM
Found this a really handy addition...
ozmazdaclub
01-22-2006, 07:28 AM
is it just the product install or do we need to do the template modification also?
Thanks guys, upgrading to vB 3.5 this weekend and I've already got this setup on my dev box in preperation.
Works like a charm :D
Boofo
04-20-2006, 09:43 PM
I just noticed that after I close a thread with this that I have to refresh the page for it to actually close the thread. Am I doing something wrong? :confused:
phonexpo
04-20-2006, 09:47 PM
I just noticed that after I close a thread with this that I have to refresh the page for it to actually close the thread. Am I doing something wrong? :confused:
No that's right. I think cause it's not Ajax it shows as still open, but in actually fact it is closed.
Boofo
04-20-2006, 10:14 PM
No that's right. I think cause it's not Ajax it shows as still open, but in actually fact it is closed.
Can Ajax be incorporated into this?
antialiasis
05-11-2006, 11:36 AM
This isn't working for me... nothing shows up under the Quick Reply box.
EDIT: Sorry, it was just that I forgot to edit the template for the style I was using.
-=Sniper=-
09-03-2006, 04:16 PM
this also works with 3.6 (thanks to BlueEyesOnly) for letting me know, could a mod move this to the 3.6 forums so I can select 3.6 from the mod settings?
Hornstar
10-27-2006, 04:33 AM
Yeah hopefully an ajax integration can be incorporated into this if it hasnt already been done so.
This is something that I was looking for ages ago. :)
Hornstar
11-07-2008, 08:16 PM
Hopefully this can be checked and touched up to make it work the best it can possibly be for when vb 3.8 goes gold.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.