View Full Version : Place a scrolling marquee on navbar (header)
VaaKo
11-08-2005, 10:00 PM
This is a very simple html code to place in your navbar but it's really cool!
Hack updated to version 1.5, now using phrases manager!
First, you need to create the marquee phrase, which you can edit it anytime you want using the phrase manager, goto:
Admincp >> Languages & Phrases >> Phrase Manager >> Add New Phrase
and add the following
Phrase Type: GLOBAL
Product: vBulletin
Varname: marquee
Text: *The marquee that you wanna display*
now open your navbar template:
Admincp >> Styles & Templates >> Style Manager >> *template* >> navbar
Find this code
</table>
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="login" />
<input type="hidden" name="vb_login_md5password" />
<input type="hidden" name="vb_login_md5password_utf" />
</form>
<!-- / login form -->
</td>
</if>
</tr>
Place under it
<tr>
<td colspan="3" class="alt1"><marquee><span class="smallfont"><b><font color="#FF0000">$vbphrase[marquee]</font></b></span></marquee></td>
</tr>
If you have already installed it, all you have to do is replace the navbar code with the new one that includes the $vbphrase[marquee]
Demo: http://www.oneforum.org
mikehawk
11-09-2005, 07:27 PM
1st.
:rolleyes:
FamilyGuy
11-09-2005, 07:36 PM
Installed :)
Works great in IE but doesn't scroll in Firefox though.
Thnx :)
Jenkins
11-09-2005, 07:43 PM
can I paste this html in other places, say if i wanted a scrolling marque under a forum title?
VaaKo
11-09-2005, 07:53 PM
can I paste this html in other places, say if i wanted a scrolling marque under a forum title?
Yes, you can paste it anywhere you want, however it looks cool in the navbar :D
FleaBag
11-09-2005, 08:07 PM
Scrolls in FF for me.
Allan
11-09-2005, 09:07 PM
Nice thanks :)
tuanluu
11-09-2005, 09:24 PM
I think Marquee does not work well on firefox. Only best on IE :)
FamilyGuy
11-09-2005, 09:45 PM
I have tried it again in FF but still no go. Shame.
Allan
11-09-2005, 10:45 PM
work with FF for me ;)
funinthesun
11-09-2005, 10:50 PM
How do you create a scrolling marquee on the bottom of the IE page itself? Thanks :)
mikehawk
11-09-2005, 10:55 PM
Works in FireFox for me.
Sooner95
11-09-2005, 11:16 PM
works fine in IE and Opera.. will test FF..
Nice job I say.
krvaricp
11-10-2005, 04:09 AM
This modification is included in the Shiny Black Skin by Staircase :
The skin comes with a scrolling marquee. You can either totally get rid of it OR
you can edit it.
To edit it, edit your templates in the Admin CP. Go to Forum Home Templates ?
FORUMHOME. Below $navbar, there is a code like this:
<table class="tborder" align="center" border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
<tbody><tr>
<td class="tcat" align="center">
Notice from the ADMINS!
</td>
</tr>
</tbody><tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_welcomepanel" style="">
<tr>
<td class="alt1" align="center" width="101%">
<marquee>READ THE ANNOUNCEMENTS!! You could be banned if there is
something important and YOU DON'T KNOW IT!</marquee>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table><br>
You can either remove it fully or you can edit:
<marquee>READ THE ANNOUNCEMENTS!! You could be banned if there is
something important and YOU DON'T KNOW IT!</marquee>
and:
Notice from the ADMINS!
if you want to change those.
rb290
11-10-2005, 05:33 AM
nice!
installed ^_^
Rickie3
11-10-2005, 10:36 AM
installed,i did have something similar installed before but this is a lot cleaner thankyou,works fine for me in FF and IE,
i also found that adding this made my members feel more welcome to my forum.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
welcome,$bbuserinfo[username]
bonnmac
11-10-2005, 10:42 AM
is there anyway to do something like this but call the info from a specfic thread in a special forum?
quachvu
11-10-2005, 01:12 PM
how can i make it to run slower?
VaaKo
11-10-2005, 05:20 PM
how can i make it to run slower?
you can use this:
<marquee scrollamount="5">Pink Floyd</marquee>
you can increase it to make it run faster or dicrease it to make it run slower
funinthesun
11-10-2005, 05:38 PM
Anyone know how to ad this to the bottom of the Internet Explorer window?
VaaKo
11-10-2005, 05:53 PM
Anyone know how to ad this to the bottom of the Internet Explorer window?
where do you mean?
in the "What's Going On?" block at the bottom?
Snake
11-10-2005, 06:47 PM
Installed.
funinthesun
11-10-2005, 07:00 PM
where do you mean?
in the "What's Going On?" block at the bottom?
No, I mean on the actual browser page. Where it says "Done" in the bottom left hand corner. I've seen it on a few websites and wondered how you do it?
Thanks :)
VaaKo
11-10-2005, 07:09 PM
what you're looking for has nothing to do with this hack or anything related to VB
it's a free javascript code which u can find everywhere, it's called status bar!
check this page:
http://javascriptkit.com/script/cutindex19.shtml
Rickie3
11-10-2005, 09:36 PM
<marquee scrollamount="5">Pink Floyd</marquee>
you can increase it to make it run faster or dicrease it to make it run slower
thanx just what i was looking for cheers
funinthesun
11-10-2005, 09:57 PM
Aha! Thank you! I knew it was a javascript but I couldn't find it.
funinthesun
11-10-2005, 10:19 PM
Where do I copy the script to? It says to place it in the <body> of the <head> section but I can only find the header template which doesn't have a <body> tag? :confused:
Ebolender
11-11-2005, 12:10 AM
Installed and thanks for this.
Reeve of shinra
11-11-2005, 01:29 AM
"PS: if anyone is interested in making the message controled from the admincp, please be my guest to work on it!"
The ghetto way would be to use a phrase. You can then edit it, whatever, from the phrase manager.
VaaKo
11-11-2005, 05:31 AM
The ghetto way would be to use a phrase. You can then edit it, whatever, from the phrase manager.
hmmmm, could work, but would it still be a marquee?
I'm gonne try it out today and see if it works, but still this is not what i'm looking for...
funinthesun, paste the code in your header template :)
FamilyGuy
11-11-2005, 11:46 AM
Its working great on my site. Would it be possible to add a hyperlink in the text though?
VaaKo
11-11-2005, 12:16 PM
Its working great on my site. Would it be possible to add a hyperlink in the text though?
yes, use:
<a href="link.html">text</a>
VaaKo
11-11-2005, 02:56 PM
Hack updated!
Forumi Shqiptar
11-11-2005, 05:43 PM
just what i needed to put any new releases or any new interested things in my board thats awsome :D
Clicked install
DA KING
11-11-2005, 07:49 PM
this is great. Thanks! can put important info in the marquee
FamilyGuy
11-11-2005, 08:56 PM
Excellent, the update works great and I got the hyperlink in too.
Thnx very much :)
funinthesun
11-12-2005, 07:28 PM
Please, does anyone know where I add the javascript code to? I mentioned it in an earlier post on this thread. Thanks :)
VaaKo
11-13-2005, 08:24 AM
Please, does anyone know where I add the javascript code to? I mentioned it in an earlier post on this thread. Thanks :)
if you're talkin about the status bar message, I told you put it in your header or footer template, but if u're talkin about this hack, re-read the instructions!
funinthesun
11-13-2005, 01:28 PM
It's about the java script. Yes, I know it should be placed in the header but where abouts as I can't see any tags that say <head> or <body> and it sais the code needs to be placed between them. :nervous: :confused:
VaaKo
11-13-2005, 03:28 PM
It's about the java script. Yes, I know it should be placed in the header but where abouts as I can't see any tags that say <head> or <body> and it sais the code needs to be placed between them. :nervous: :confused:
put it on top, that would do it :)
funinthesun
11-14-2005, 10:43 AM
put it on top, that would do it :)
Thank you :nervous:
lefteris
11-14-2005, 01:20 PM
nice
steve1386
12-28-2005, 08:02 AM
Nice one, can anyone tell me how I can change the color of the text, may sound daft but cant see how to..
Thanks in advance..
hotwheels
12-30-2005, 08:38 PM
It is working good, but what does this mean? Uncached templates: marqtext (1)
4number8
12-30-2005, 11:50 PM
steve1386, the code you added to your nav bar, change #FF0000 to the color you need
ChuckH
12-31-2005, 12:39 AM
Nice! I have something similar in my header but I took an RSS feed and rolled it into an old-fashion news ticker. You can see it here:
www.cockytalk.com
Ole_Chilli
12-31-2005, 03:24 AM
ahh man a cock fan
- rebeldrummer
ChuckH
12-31-2005, 02:37 PM
LOL! I guess you're a Rebel!
Warlockmatized
01-23-2006, 04:23 AM
i have the double navbar hack installed as well as cmps 2.0.0 on my vb 3.5.3 board. i followed the directions to the letter and the marquee does NOT show up. any ideas?
Dollah
01-23-2006, 05:31 AM
thanx for this
Mikecp421
01-28-2006, 12:43 AM
very nice, I like it!
Ole_Chilli
01-28-2006, 12:49 AM
LOL! I guess you're a Rebel!
indeed
Smiry Kin's
01-28-2006, 11:05 PM
Nice and easy...
/me Installs
serhat_kk
02-19-2006, 10:42 AM
Here is the problem at FIREFOX http://images6.theimagehosting.com/navbar.JPG
look at the right side of navbar. how can i fix it for firefox ? (its workin nice at IE.)
Thanks.
khaleel
02-19-2006, 11:25 AM
anyone got a demo which does not require that you must register
Krose
03-24-2006, 06:11 AM
really nice!..thanx a lot!..installed
bashy
04-13-2006, 09:28 PM
Hi, How can i set this for members only please?
I have tried adding <if condition="$show['member']"> but as im no coder it didnt work :(
Also i have tried to add the conditional for the members name but it only shows this
Welcome $bbuserinfo[username] We presently require a new Moderator, Please see the post in the lounge!!
Please advise anyone :)
SCORPION1
04-16-2006, 02:45 AM
Thank you installed and running very simple but effective:D
Dez_U
04-16-2006, 08:43 AM
nice, installed
serhat_kk
04-22-2006, 10:00 PM
Here is the problem at FIREFOX http://images6.theimagehosting.com/navbar.JPG
look at the right side of navbar. how can i fix it for firefox ? (its workin nice at IE.)
Thanks.
I need help...:(
MrOnline
05-01-2006, 08:14 PM
it worked perfect for me, with Firefox, so sorry, must be something else you have done wrong... :banana:
BaldNut
09-05-2006, 07:44 AM
could it pull data from either a database or a csv or simillar? i see 200 weight loss clients per week and would like to put a list of people weekly progress in the forums such as
baldnut -2lb, jane edwards -1lb, sarah stewart -1.5lb, etc?
BaldNut
09-05-2006, 07:44 AM
i only use firefox and works greast on the demo site (as i aint installed yet)
BaldNut
09-05-2006, 10:12 AM
is there a limit to how much text you can put in the phrase manager?
Installed and working fine btw www.diethell.co.uk/forums
Thanks. Worked perfectly.
<marquee scrollamount="5">Pink Floyd</marquee>
I'm a beginner here...what do I do with that code to slow down the marquee?
And how do I change the scroll direction? I want it to scroll from left to right.
Thanks in advance :)
Jack Crazy
09-25-2006, 06:10 AM
Ttt Ftw
mpage
11-21-2006, 11:30 AM
Ive made a similar thing but uses java to download any rss feed
and displays it as a ticker:
see this post (java rss feed ticker), might be what your looking for: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?p=1122198#post1122198
BigJimTheLug
02-25-2007, 04:16 AM
I have it installed in my forum, how do I slow it down?
The speed is ok as it is, but a bit slower would be perfect.
This is a great hack, clicked install!
Eq4bits
02-25-2007, 10:45 PM
Go into your admincp
vBulletin Options>Menu Alert Options
scroll down towards bottom (just above 'save' button) you will see 'Marquee Speed'
input a number for the delay..... that should do it
see pic attached
AuroraStorm
03-08-2007, 01:56 PM
How do you increase the font size and/or the font face?
Eq4bits
03-08-2007, 09:42 PM
use an html editor if you don't 'know' straight html coding
then copy past and paste the code between the <body> & </body> tags into the text area in the vb options settings
at least that's how i do it :D
RedKilla
11-14-2008, 01:09 PM
Great Add-In!
gulfcoasttundra
02-19-2010, 08:23 PM
has anyone tried this on 4.0?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.